Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Way to remove the banner from my geocities site?

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    I've spent alot of time working on my www.neverdead.co.nr site, days in fact... But it just looks shoddy with those Geocities Banners on the right side! Is there any type of crack to get rid of them?
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    http://adblock.mozdev.org <--- Remove them client side with Adblock on firefox

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    something more universal that will work with everyone, not just an adblocker, more like a script or something to add to the page.
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    I would think they might take "your site" down if you remove them banners.

    If it is one of those "free web site" thingies.
    Spoiler: Show

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    natedogg's Avatar R.I.P. Nate Dogg :(
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Castro Valley, California
    Posts
    3,053
    get a http://www.tk/ and that seems to take the ads off

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    You used to be able to, but now I think they've gotten too smart..

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    I dont think TK removes ads, at least just from my experience. It simply changes "omfg.members.fortunecit.com/games/omfg/jesus/momspage.html" to "site.tk"


    http://smog.cjb.net/


    That site always worked for me. Click Ad Kill. That got rid of geocities and fortunecity ads. But if they find out, they will get rid of your account.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    try using a better free host like www.freewebs.com or something.
    geocities is shit.

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    I agree, geocities sucks, and gives you crap space. And no FTP!!

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    I have 10GB of bandwith and file hosting with Streamload, but I can't write HTML for shit, so Geocities is really my only hope... At least my page doesn't always fuck out because of their shitty bandwith cap.

    I dunno what I'd do if that site got shut down cuz I was killing banners... I spent ages making it!

    No banners come up on the front page, I'm thinking because the adress there is a .co.nr redirection, but as soon as you go on other pages which are all links to Geocities hosted pages, I get banners... Maybe I should make each page a co.nr registered name and link to those!
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •