Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: System Hiccupping

  1. #1
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    ok, i'm not sure when this started or if it was kinda there already or what. i do know that it IS getting worse and i'm tired of it. my pc is hiccupping a lot. more so when i am running applications. playing games is where i started to see it. i would get a slight pause. nothing else, just a slight pause. that's what i get still, but is happening more often. outside of games too. at the desktop while chatting on msn or playing winamp. getting slight pauses. maybe my cpu? videocard? drivers? xp? maybe a bios update prob? the board started with 1.05. then i updated to 1.07 and more recently 1.08. can't remember if prob started at 1.05 or 7 or 8. don't know. maybe not enough or to much arctic silver? should a person take the cpu out and reinstall after a bios update? lol, i'm not sure. anyone have some clues for me? hell, some answers? like to keep talking about this, but gotta run to work. thx for any comments.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Describe this "pause".
    If you are playing music, does the music pause as well? Or is it just visual things like scrolling or moving your cursor that pause?
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Have you tried restarting? Maybe you have alot of background applications running, or lots of spyware/viruses. Just try restarting, and see if that helps.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    I can't tell you what is causing these problems, but I can tell you what isn't.

    First of all, it will not be anything to do with too much/little Arctic Silver. It simply can't cause such problems. There is also no need to remove and replace the CPU after a bios upgrade.

    Different bios versions 1.05/7/8 are also very unlikely to cause this sort of problem. Mostly the bios versions control things before the OS can take over. They do some assignment of some things (such as interrupts), so information can come from the bios but generally the bios is inactive once the OS is up and running. The only time the OS lets the bios run things is when it is in "safe" mode.

    As suggested by orcutt989, do a full virus/spyware check. From what you've said this has obviously being going on for some time, so the "restart" option isn't going to do any good. After that, look at the various services, stopping some of those can have a dramatic effect on performance.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    RGX's Avatar Unstoppable
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,072
    Defragged recently?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    Give some Water.

    Or Scare the shits out of it.

    Nah, I'd start from running Spyware and Viri checks...
    Spoiler: Show

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Not at lot to go on to help you. But why all the BIOS updates? I don't aften say to reformat and reinstall , but good option . If you can flash your bios you'll not have any trouble reinstalling . Back up, wipe it clean ,update . Then see if your having problems . But just My thoughts .

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    i keep my system fairly updated and always defrag and virus checks and always check for spyware. so, i'm thinking that none of those are at fault. yeah, i restart my pc twice a day so out the door with that. also, i format my pc regularly too. after doing all said above it still does the "pause".

    kaiweiler, yes, my music pauses with this "pause" and u can notice my mouse cursor disappear and reappear where it would had been if u kept moving ur mouse. it is less than a sec pause, but very noticable.

    as for apps running in the background i usually have about 25 running in background, but that has always been the case and (back in the day) never had the issue.

    i don't have any friends that carry a cpu i can trade out to test so... maybe cpu going out?
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    After reading your post and sig. Why knock your self out? Mabey take to a good shop, let them test it .You sound like youv' tryed everthing. Some charge $20 dollars Can. to test , then atlest you'll have a good idea.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    First thing I can think of is... Set everything back to stock speeds (No overclocking).

    And... Did you install the Nvidia chipset drivers?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •