Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: 673920457% performance increase! OMG!

  1. #1
    TheDave's Avatar n00b
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    yorkshire, england
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,982
    ok, small exageration.

    i'm on P4 1600 mhz
    384 something ram
    sapphire radeon 9600 pro
    XP pro

    i bought rollercoaster tycoon 3 last week and i was getting a steady frame rate of 10-15 fps on low settings but when i got 300+ visitors it was just intolerable. my brother said try on 'ME' you might get a slight improvement. so i put a fat32 partition on my second hard drive. now i can run it smooth on medium to high settings (with full reflections) depending on park size at a good frame rate (couldnt be bothered to check framerates with fraps but there isnt really any slowdown till 500 and it isnt bad until about 800 guests.)

    so the secret is use windows ME for your games. BF vietnam can handle twice as many bots now but CoD wont play.

  2. Games   -   #2
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    POS, resouce killing XP, I hate u! I won't switch to ME anytime soon.

  3. Games   -   #3
    TheDave's Avatar n00b
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    yorkshire, england
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,982
    Quote Originally Posted by HardcoreGamer
    POS, resouce killing XP, I hate u! I won't switch to ME anytime soon.

    jus put it on an old hard-drive. or back up your smallest hdd and reformat iit with a 20gb fat32 partition.

    p.s anyone know what to type in XP's c:/boot.ini to get the boot menu to allow me to boot ME from the secondary master EIDE. i'm sick of unplugging primary mster

  4. Games   -   #4
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Note: ME has the most errors even after service packs/updates out of any operating system. I think that the only reason why it did this for you is because ME takes up less RAM then XP. If you were to get Windows 2000, or even 98 Plus, then you would see the same improvement, but without destroying your computer with ME.

  5. Games   -   #5
    TheDave's Avatar n00b
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    yorkshire, england
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,982
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    Note: ME has the most errors even after service packs/updates out of any operating system. I think that the only reason why it did this for you is because ME takes up less RAM then XP. If you were to get Windows 2000, or even 98 Plus, then you would see the same improvement, but without destroying your computer with ME.
    true. ive started up about 30 times and shut down once

  6. Games   -   #6
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Well then might i suggest windows 2000?

  7. Games   -   #7
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    Well then might i suggest windows 2000?
    Thats still running the NT core that XP is also built around. It the game is compatible 98 would be your best choice.


  8. Games   -   #8
    yah 2000 is really stable

  9. Games   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Quote Originally Posted by peerzyboy
    Thats still running the NT core that XP is also built around. It the game is compatible 98 would be your best choice.
    What does Windows NT have to do with anything? Windows ME is just 98 with different Icons, and more errors.

  10. Games   -   #10
    muchspl2
    Guest
    me, are you serious
    wtf

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •