Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [Win xp]CPU speed changing

  1. #1
    Guillaume's Avatar Kentish old lady BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7,763
    Another problem from a software noob.

    Since a few days, my computer will slow down for no reason (no programs or processes running except the most basic from windows xp) and the cpu speed is reported as 884 MHz instead of 2.40 GHz.
    I have to reboot several times before it goes back to normal.

    I've tested my machine with three different antivirus programs (NOD 32, AČ and Ewido security suite) and several anti-spyware programs as well. All of them find nothing.
    I've even formated and reinstalled windoze twice.

    My specs: Win XP Pro SP1
    Intel Pentium 4 2.40 GHz
    512 mb ram

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    Well, I got me another CPU last summer, after changing iton the PC, the XP didnt
    got the speed right before I did a new install.

    Might want to keep an eye what the BIOS says about it too.

    If possible, get the SP2.
    That might help something, or not.

    Spoiler: Show

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Guillaume's Avatar Kentish old lady BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7,763
    Quote Originally Posted by Afronaut
    Might want to keep an eye what the BIOS says about it too.
    That's where I don't get it. The bios still reports it as 2.40 GHZ.

    edit:It's back at normal speed now! I didn't change a thing!
    Last edited by Guillaume; 11-16-2004 at 06:57 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Check the motherboard makers web site for BIOS updates. Perhaps it's a known issue with that board.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    What is the temperature of the chip?
    when a pentium 4 gets hot then it automatically throttles itself down to slower speeds to make the temp lower.
    that's probably the problem.
    Last edited by tesco; 11-16-2004 at 10:29 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Guillaume's Avatar Kentish old lady BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7,763
    I have no idea how to check the actual temperature... I don't think this motherboard even has a form of temperature probe (or whatever else it's called). The laptop case doesn't feel hotter than usual.

    I'll try updating the bios before I take it to a pro. If you don't hear from me for a while, it's probably because I've screwed things up.

    edit: maybe I'll wait for a more computer-knowledgeable friend to do it, to afraid to f*ck things up.
    Last edited by Guillaume; 11-16-2004 at 11:45 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    it's a laptop? laptops with centrino technology don't run the cpu at the max clock speed to save battery life.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Guillaume's Avatar Kentish old lady BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7,763
    Yes, it's a laptop. But it isn't equiped with a centrino ( I don't even think centrino existed when I bought it. )
    Plus it's not on battery but always plugged on teh AC.

    Updating the bios didn't change a thing so I'll try opening and cleaning everything in it, just in case fans and heatsink are clogged with dust and it's a heat problem as Rossco said.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    install and run speedfan or motherboard monitor 5 (speedfan is easier to setup).

    if there is any type of temperature probe or whatever then it will say the temps there. otherwise i dunno.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Guillaume's Avatar Kentish old lady BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7,763
    I just found a program called mobile meter on another forum. It seems to pick something whereas motherboard monitor didn't.
    CPU is running at 55/56° C. So it's definitely a heat problem.
    I hope cleaning up the fan/sink will help.
    I may have to underclock my cpu though. (I didn't even know underclocking existed!)
    Last edited by Guillaume; 11-17-2004 at 11:52 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •