Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: can i have two firewalls on the same computer?

  1. #1
    i am using zonealarm and i have just downloaded pc-cillin 2005. it has the firewall too. is it ok if i enable the firewall in pc-cillin or i have to leave it disabled? if i only need one, which one should i keep?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    I'd recommend one only as you shouldn't need more than one if it's a good firewall.

    Out of the 2 you suggested, I'd keep the Zone Alarm, but I highly recommend Sygate.

    Don't run two at once as they can, and probably will conflict.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I have heard running two can cause more troubles than its worth! Why not disable ZA then try PC cillin ,Use a web site to run a few scans then decide. I have n't heard to many good things about Pc cillin tho!

    http://www.auditmypc.com/
    Last edited by peat moss; 11-17-2004 at 02:47 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Goes Rawr!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    349
    I also wouldn't recommend it, onces when i ran sygate pro and kerio personal fw, things went a little crazy

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    leave the pc cillian fw out...
    ZA or sygate is about the best you can do
    and any firewall should tell you upon installing that....

    a. you have another firewall installed
    b. the two are gonna clash
    c. plz to remove one or the other :p

    cause basically they all clash if i remember right
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Outpost is just as good as Sygate maybe better. Although Sygate is easier to setup. I wouldn't recommend za at all.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    with software firewalls use only one, but you could always use a hardware firewall and one software firewall together.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb
    Outpost is just as good as Sygate maybe better. Although Sygate is easier to setup. I wouldn't recommend za at all.

    Why not ZA, zapjb? It's all I 'v every tryed. When I do a online scan from different sites , I seem to be invisable ! Mind you I have other tweaks like un plug and pray , and some ports closed. But just wondering.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    @peat moss, Hell can't remember why now. Just got off work. lol.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    just leave zone alarm liek people said.

    and if you enable the pc-cillin one then it may conflict with zone alarm.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •