Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Slight upgrade to old computer... Need help!

  1. #1
    Alright I wanted to upgrade the cpu in an old computer but I don't know what the best cpu would be that will work with the mainboard heres the specs for the computer right now

    CPU(s)
    Number of CPUs 1

    Name AMD K6-2 (model 8)
    Code Name Chomper
    Specification AMD-K6(tm) 3D processor
    Family / Model / Stepping 5 8 C
    Extended Family / Model 6 8
    Package Socket 7
    Core Stepping CXT
    Technology 0.25
    Supported Instructions Sets MMX, 3DNow!
    CPU Clock Speed 333.1 MHz
    Clock multiplier x 5.0
    Front Side Bus Frequency 66.6 MHz
    Bus Speed 66.6 MHz
    L1 Data Cache 32 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 32 Bytes line size
    L1 Instruction Cache 32 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 32 Bytes line size



    Mainboard and chipset
    Motherboard manufacturer First International Computer, Inc.
    Motherboard model VA-503+, PCB 1.X
    BIOS vendor Award Software International, Inc.
    BIOS revision 4.51 PG
    BIOS release date 06/25/98
    Chipset VIA Apollo VP3 rev. 4
    Southbridge VIA VT82C586 rev. 41

    Graphic Interface AGP
    AGP Status enabled, rev. 1.0
    AGP Data Transfert Rate 1x
    AGP Max Rate 2x
    AGP Side Band Addressing supported, not enabled
    AGP Aperture Size 64 MBytes

    thx

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Don't waste your time and money trying to upgrade that.

    Get a new motherboard, CPU and RAM. You will probably want to upgrade other parts too.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    numba1xclusive's Avatar Xclusive Gangsta
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    208
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Don't waste your time and money trying to upgrade that.

    Get a new motherboard, CPU and RAM. You will probably want to upgrade other parts too.
    Yeah dude, no offense but they dont make 300 mhz processors anymore except for those Palm Pilot things.Justditch the mobo and CPU, and RAM and buy new stuff. It'll be a drainer, but it's worth it compared to the system you have.

    Da Numba1Xclusive King

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Ya i upgraded from a computer similar to that almost 2 years ago...it's not worth it really.

    you will want to have a faster hard drive, more\faster ram, new cpu and motherboard, a video card. thenmaybe some other things like a new case.

    you might as well get a whole new computer.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    I have a new computer!!! But I was going to buy some used part to upgrade that computer a little... I know I could build a new computer but it's just not worth it for what im using it for and I only want to spend like $50... so all I really need to know is whats the best cpu that will work with that MB

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    bob_the_alien's Avatar Bob The Alien
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Age
    37
    Posts
    525
    According to the website,

    Q37: Is it possible to connect an AMD K6-2 500MHZ CPU to the VA503+ or PA-2013? 2000/3/10
    A: Both the FIC PA-2013 & VA-503+ versions with the certified sticker can support AMD CPU up to K6(2)-550 or K6(3)-500, with BIOS update to JI4327 and JE439 for each. If they do not have a sticker they can support up to K6(2)-400 only. This is backed up with FIC's rigid internal approval test reports. K6(2)-533 will not work on either since it requires 97Mhz system bus. (2000/4/7 updated)

    Both FIC PA-2013 & VA-503+ versions with the certified sticker can support AMD CPU up to K6(2)-475 or K6(3)-450 only. If they do not have a sticker they can support up to K6(2)-400. This is backed up with FIC's rigid internal approval test report. Any CPU beyond this, such as K6(2)-500 or K6(2)-533 will result in an unstable system, and may mean loss of data, particularly with I/O processes.
    so up to 550mhz, but only with a bios update.
    and surely you can find a cpu like that for way under 50 bucks, I wouldn't spend like over 5 bucks for one.
    Last edited by bob_the_alien; 11-18-2004 at 12:36 AM.
    "Where did he go, George, Where did he go?"


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I still think it's a waste of time and money.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    550mhz and 256mb of ram runs windows xp very well.

    but 333mhz isn't that much worse anyway so i'd say it's not really worth the 50bucks.
    Last edited by tesco; 11-18-2004 at 03:45 AM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    I still think it's a waste of time and money.
    Maybe but I think it will be alot more waste of time and money to build a new puter... cause what I'm using the puter for it really doesn't need to be that great... so I'd rather spend like $20 and do a slight upgrade and waste like 2mins of my life installing it. Then to waste 500-1500$ building a new computer when what I'm using it for would be a complete waste of the system I would have just built...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •