Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dual vid cards?

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    anyone ever done this before?

    situation:
    i got a radeon 7000 PCI for the moment, it was a cheap backup,
    while my 9200 AGP is sent back to ATI
    (its been there FOREVER )
    which, yeah, was another cheap card, but oh well
    now, assuming i ever get my 9200 back,
    the safest place for the 7000 is probably in my pc

    after reading through the 7000 user stuff, which makes it sound possible,
    was just thinking of pluggin in the AGP and not messin with the PCI card
    that is until i get off my lazy ass and sell the 7000
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    bob_the_alien's Avatar Bob The Alien
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Age
    37
    Posts
    525
    yes, depending on what OS your using, it can either work automatically, or not work at all, in XP, and various Linux disros works perfectly, any older windows OS, you can get it to work, but you've got some time on your hands. and To much so.

    But even if it doesn't work, still, leave it in, all it will be is unreconized hardware. No biggie.
    "Where did he go, George, Where did he go?"


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    some mobo's will flip if you try and do it though, so check your bios to be sure......

    what id do is take the 7000 out, put the 9200 in, boot and make sure everything works ok

    then put the 7000 in, and boot with that....... then you can hook up your second monitor (im assuming thats what you wanna do, if not, the safest place for your 7000 is prolly the box you get the 9200 in back

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by bob_the_alien
    yes, depending on what OS your using, it can either work automatically, or not work at all, in XP....
    that mean XP is a yea or nay?
    (XP Pro is what i am runnin)
    of course the monitor will ony be plugged into one card....
    its not like i'll ever be using this sucker for presentations
    or anything that may require two monitors
    its just, like i said, probably the safest place for the extra card
    (if i posted a screeny of my desktop & room, you would understand)
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    bob_the_alien's Avatar Bob The Alien
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, Kentucky
    Age
    37
    Posts
    525
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    (if i posted a screeny of my desktop & room, you would understand)
    I know the feeling.


    Yeah, Xp will do it automatically, as soon as it sees two cards, it will display both in the display properties/settings tab.
    Pretty much automatic.

    As Storm said though, you will want to make sure your AGP is set in the bios as the one to display first.
    Last edited by bob_the_alien; 11-18-2004 at 12:31 AM.
    "Where did he go, George, Where did he go?"


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by bob_the_alien
    As Storm said though, you will want to make sure your AGP is set in the bios as the one to display first.
    yeah thats no problem
    unfortunately i know my BIOS like the back of my hand....
    spent as much time in there as i ever have on my pc when my RAM & vid went cukoo
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •