Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: LAN problem

  1. #1
    Aurora's Avatar Say CHEEEEEEEESS
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Caribians
    Age
    37
    Posts
    178

    Tongue

    Hi!

    I have a LAN and one computer doesnít have an access to the network and also other computers canít access that one. It sais it doesnít have a permission.

    I done all I know:
    -File and Print sharing
    -HD sharing
    -It has legitimate name and it is in right network group
    -Firewall is not on

    Please give me some more suggestions.
    I looked in help and didnít find any helpfull answer.

    Comupter can go on Internet, and ping works with other computers, telnet doesnít. There is also no server on the network. I use XP

    Really important, because I need printing.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by Aurora; 11-25-2004 at 08:14 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    is it Windows XP? Run the Network Setup Wizard.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Aurora's Avatar Say CHEEEEEEEESS
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Caribians
    Age
    37
    Posts
    178
    Did that! Frist thing!

    I did lot more than I wrote... can't remeber it all.

    But please keep advising, maybe solution is somewhere in there.

    I had this problem before, never fixed it the same way, and offcoarse nothing that previously worked, is working now!

    Yes it is Widows XP Professional.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    If your system's admin account's folders are set to "private", you may be experiencing your problems there.
    Last edited by Izagaia; 11-22-2004 at 09:05 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Aurora's Avatar Say CHEEEEEEEESS
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Caribians
    Age
    37
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by Izagaia
    If your system's admin account's folders are set to "private", you may be experiencing your problems there.

    Hmmm, how do I change that? Aproximately?

    I did open an admin account and it didn't ask me for souch an option.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Aurora's Avatar Say CHEEEEEEEESS
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Caribians
    Age
    37
    Posts
    178
    I just looked at the account type, and it doesn't have private, it just sais Computer administrator,and I don't have an option to change that. Also that is the only account I have on that computer.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Aurora's Avatar Say CHEEEEEEEESS
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Caribians
    Age
    37
    Posts
    178
    Oh! Come on guys! Please

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    do other pcs have firewalls setup?

    do they connect through a router or through LAN to a hub to the pc with inet?
    <insert signature here>

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Aurora's Avatar Say CHEEEEEEEESS
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Caribians
    Age
    37
    Posts
    178
    None of the PCs have firewall.

    Connection to router, router to switch, PCs to switch. No extra security, and all PCs are the same, no server or anything.

    All copmuters are equal, and only this one doesn't work!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    is the router configged properly? check that it is set to "use as dhcp server" and that there is a sufficiently large range of IPs

    have you tried the universal big hammer method?
    <insert signature here>

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •