Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sound Problems

  1. #1
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Hi All,

    Was recently listening to some mp3's on Winamp when something really bizarre happened.

    The song plays as normal, then slowly fades out, then comes back, then fades then comes back it's freaking me out.

    I thought at first the bass was turned on too high, but it wasn't. I checked Winamp's settings, and they were fine too. Same for the Creative Labs Surround Mixer settings.

    This is now happening with all of my songs. Rebooting did not work.

    If I was to best descibe it, I'd say it would have the same effect as, say someone using the volume slider on my remote and turning it from low to high.

    Any ideas, or does anyone know a fix? I don't think my soundcard is fubar'd, it's less than a year old. It's a Creative Labs Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Pro.

    Samurai

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    I was having problems with my Soundblaster card the other day too.

    Not like that though. I resolved it by simply taking it out and putting it back in a different slot

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Seems I'm not the only one who's having this problem...

    http://forums.americas.creative.com/...message.id=159

    However it seems I can't access Creative's UK site... unless it's been taken down. Can someone try http://uk.europe.creative.com/ and let me know please. Thanks.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    Nope, that Europe link doesn't work for me either

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    I remember having a Creative live Platinum card some time ago.
    It wasn't too bad but...

    The Drivers.

    Creative folks has been really lame with the drivers.

    So, check out the kX drivers:

    http://www.kxproject.com/

    Im not sure if they support your particular card but
    I would check if so.

    I used them in my Live and had no problems.

    Spoiler: Show

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Finally figured out the problem, which was 2-fold.

    1. Although drivers were updated recently, I needed to keep going back to the update page to download further updates. It was a bit like M$ where sometimes you can only download one at a time, and I obviously thought I had them all (I mean it was a 25MB d/l); and

    2. Not sure if this contributed to this problem but a lead going into my base was 1/8 out of it's port .

    Thanks for everyones suggestions though,

    Samurai

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    Nice to hear its sorted.
    Spoiler: Show

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •