Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: ATI Radeon 9800 pro 128 Mb(OpenGL)

  1. #1
    spelunker121's Avatar Flailing about!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    181

    Sick

    Hi Forum,

    Im not sure if this should be posted here(please move if needed)

    I used to have a Nvidea Graphics card geforce2 mx440 64Mb in in my
    Dell 8600 P4 @ 2gig Mz
    512 ram 80 gig hard drive and it ran DOOM3 in its Mininmum settings fine(well, just a little chunky........but only a little) But I was heavilly into HALO at the time, and I wanted more hard drive space. So, I deleted DOOM3 from my computer

    Well, I finished HALO( one of the best games I have ever played) and was ready to focus on DOOM3 but wanted to enjoy the intensive graphics the game has to offer

    Then I installed a new card, a Nvidea fx 5700le 128 Mb

    And my games didnt run right. Specificly Halo and GTA Vice City( they had what looked like various textures like kinda flickering just below the surface of the game graphics.kinda hard to describe) so I returned it, and found another one that was on sale

    The Radean 9800 pro.


    This card SMOKES the nvidea card that I had retuned to the store( my games look AWSOME)

    Anyway I reinstalled DOOM3 and went to run it(the reinstall went fine, in fact I was still able to get to my "savegame" from the previous install)
    and just after it gets done with the "loading" bar it starts the game for about 3 seconds and then it hangs.
    Then the "MS Error reporting" window pops up to tell me the DOOM3 has encountered a problem and needs to close

    When I look @ the details of the report it indicates that the "ATIOGLXX.DLL"file is the problem.
    (so far only DOOM3 has given me trouble)

    Is there any known issues with openGL and DOOM ??

    Has ANYONE had a similar problem?????? and if so, Whats the fix????

    P.S.

    Yes, I uninstalled all my video drivers before using the Radeon install disk(the install went fine)

    Thanx for your patience in this long winded post,

    But, Thanx in advanc(if more info is needed just holla' )
    Protect me from what I want!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    download the latest drivers from the internet, its possible that the drivers on the disk are outdated

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    NikkiD's Avatar Yen?
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Port Dover, Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,413
    Yes, I had the same problem.

    There is an alternate driver that is available on ATI's website.

    http://www.ati.com/support/infobase/4547.html

    After installing that, it ran beautifully.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    spelunker121's Avatar Flailing about!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by NikkiD
    Yes, I had the same problem.

    There is an alternate driver that is available on ATI's website.

    http://www.ati.com/support/infobase/4547.html

    After installing that, it ran beautifully.
    You had the SAME problem?? with DOOM3 (or another game? )

    I will try to update the driver to the latest version, but the "error reporting" popup indicates its a problem with the opengl .dll I wonder if the .dll file is a driver file for openGL??

    but really, when you say it ran beautifully...........are you refering to the same type of error??????
    Protect me from what I want!

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,632
    Thanx for your patience in this long winded post
    Long winded? Not at all.

    I wish more posts included all the info needed instead of wasting the entire first page trying to figure them out.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    NikkiD's Avatar Yen?
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Port Dover, Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,413
    Quote Originally Posted by spelunker121
    You had the SAME problem?? with DOOM3 (or another game? )

    I will try to update the driver to the latest version, but the "error reporting" popup indicates its a problem with the opengl .dll I wonder if the .dll file is a driver file for openGL??

    but really, when you say it ran beautifully...........are you refering to the same type of error??????
    Same type of error on Doom 3 with the same video card.

    It would freeze during or just after the loading screen, and then crash to the desktop. Sometimes I'd get an error, sometimes I wouldn't.

    Since I installed that driver, I've encountered no problems with Doom 3 or anything else that I can think of.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    spelunker121's Avatar Flailing about!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by NikkiD
    Same type of error on Doom 3 with the same video card.

    It would freeze during or just after the loading screen, and then crash to the desktop. Sometimes I'd get an error, sometimes I wouldn't.

    Since I installed that driver, I've encountered no problems with Doom 3 or anything else that I can think of.
    NikkiD.........I think im getting wood!

    Since im @ work now, I cant wait get home to update the driver and see if it works.

    This gives me hope.......THANK YOU.

    Im sure you can imagine my disappointment when my game didnt work

    NikkiD.......I will update this post with the results!

    Thanx again.(for now)
    Protect me from what I want!

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Jon L. Obscene's Avatar Canadain potatoes!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Port Dover
    Age
    40
    Posts
    4,767
    lol, I tried to run Doom 3 Demo last night after someone told me it would run on a shit machine (being mine lol)

    This is what the error said

    DOOM 1.0.1280 win-x86 Sep 10 2004 16:46:16
    1294 MHz AMD CPU with MMX & 3DNow! & SSE
    240 MB System Memory
    16 MB Video Memory
    Winsock Initialized
    Hostname:
    IP:
    doom using MMX & SSE for SIMD processing
    enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
    ------ Initializing File System ------
    Loaded pk4 C:\PROGRA~1\DOOM3D~1\demo\demo00.pk4 with checksum 0x851c03dd
    Current search path:
    C:\PROGRA~1\DOOM3D~1/demo
    C:\PROGRA~1\DOOM3D~1\demo\demo00.pk4 (12234 files)
    game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
    file system initialized.
    --------------------------------------

    Running in restricted demo mode.

    ----- Initializing Decls -----
    ------------------------------
    Detected
    1.29 GHz CPU
    240 MB of System memory
    16 MB of Video memory on an optimal video architecture

    This system qualifies for Low quality.
    ------- Initializing renderSystem --------
    using ARB renderSystem
    renderSystem initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    5150 strings read from strings/english.lang
    Couldn't open journal files
    couldn't exec editor.cfg
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec DoomConfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    5150 strings read from strings/english.lang
    ----- Initializing Sound System ------
    sound system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- R_InitOpenGL -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...registered window class
    ...registered fake window class
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'opengl32' ): succeeded
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetExtensionsStringARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSwapIntervalEXT
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribivARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribfvARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglChoosePixelFormatARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglCreatePbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleasePbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglDestroyPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglQueryPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglBindTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleaseTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSetPbufferAttribARB
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window @ 0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...PIXELFORMAT 4 selected
    ...creating GL context: succeeded
    ...making context current: succeeded
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetExtensionsStringARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSwapIntervalEXT
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribivARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribfvARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglChoosePixelFormatARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglCreatePbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleasePbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglDestroyPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglQueryPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglBindTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleaseTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSetPbufferAttribARB

    ------- Input Initialization -------
    Initializing DirectInput...
    mouse: DirectInput initialized.
    keyboard: DirectInput initialized.
    ------------------------------------
    sound: STEREO
    ...using GL_ARB_multitexture
    X..GL_ARB_texture_env_combine not found
    X..GL_ARB_texture_cube_map not found
    X..GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 not found
    X..GL_ARB_texture_env_add not found
    X..GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two not found
    X..GL_ARB_texture_compression not found
    X..GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic not found
    ...using GL_1.4_texture_lod_bias
    X..GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette not found
    X..GL_EXT_texture3D not found
    X..GL_EXT_stencil_wrap not found
    X..GL_NV_register_combiners not found
    X..GL_EXT_stencil_two_side not found
    X..GL_ATI_separate_stencil not found
    X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_program not found
    X..GL_ARB_fragment_program not found
    ********************
    ERROR: The current video card / driver combination does not support the necessary features.
    ********************
    Error during initialization
    Shutting down OpenGL subsystem
    ...wglMakeCurrent( NULL, NULL ): success
    ...deleting GL context: success
    ...releasing DC: success
    ...destroying window
    ...resetting display
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    took me 4 hours to d/l that

    Just thought I'd share that

    Jonno

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    spelunker121's Avatar Flailing about!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    181
    I think Doom(sp) will run on "low quality"settings on machines with less that ideal resources for gaming, However I tihink you need MORE than 16MB of video memory.( I think XP needs that much just to run)

    Additionally, why DL a demo???
    Last edited by spelunker121; 11-29-2004 at 07:26 PM.
    Protect me from what I want!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Jon L. Obscene's Avatar Canadain potatoes!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Port Dover
    Age
    40
    Posts
    4,767
    Nope, been running xp on this for 2 years
    Admitedly I thought it was a 64meg card

    Funny tho, only Doom 3 and Total War wont boot up, Medal of Honor did

    Oh well, gonna set light to it soon

    Edit: I d/l'd the demo cos I just wanted to see if this machine would run it
    Pointless d/ling 1.8 gb and it does'nt work, so I d/l'd the 450meg officail demo

    Jonno
    Last edited by Jon L. Obscene; 11-29-2004 at 07:38 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •