Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Remove Recycle Bin from Desktop??

  1. #1
    mattesca's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas (near bigdawgfoxx)
    Posts
    249
    Can you remove your recycle bin from your desktop? If so, how?
    AMD Mobile 2400XP @ 2500Mhz 1.75Vcore = 2.5Ghz
    Abit NF7-S with SP-97 heatsink
    OCZ 2X256MB Pc3200 2-2-2-5
    Antec 400watt PSU
    120GB WD HDD
    MSI 9800XT
    Soundblaster Live 5.1
    Black Chieftec Matrix w/ 5BlueLED Case Fans
    800watt Sony/Bose Speaker System

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Yes.

    First create a shortcut to the Recycle Bin to the root of C: so that you can still have access.

    Start>Run>type gpedit.msc
    User Configuration
    - Administrative Templates
    -+Desktop
    "Remove Recycle Bin icon from desktop"
    Set to Enable - Reboot Required.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    or if you are removing all icons from the desktop then an easier way to remove it is by right clicking th desktop>arrange icons>uncheck "show icons"
    but that's only if you dont want the other icons on your desktop.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco_2004
    or if you are removing all icons from the desktop then an easier way to remove it is by right clicking th desktop>arrange icons>uncheck "show icons"
    but that's only if you dont want the other icons on your desktop.
    But if you do it that way then your desktop image gets blurred.
    Last edited by Virtualbody1234; 11-30-2004 at 12:50 AM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,034
    this is wut i do i created a folder on my desktop and i orginized the one folder and put all my icons and files in that one folder and i also have the recycle bin on my desktop so i have 2 icons on my desktop

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I have no icons on my desktop.

    I think the desktop is the worst place for access to my things. If you have anything open, you need to minimize them to get to the desktop icons.

    I use the Quick Launch toolbar and keep it squeezed to the left of the taskbar. If you add lots of links to that toolbar then you'll see a small arrow at the right of the Quick Launch. Click to access all your stuff easily.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    But if you do it that way then your desktop image gets blurred.
    no it doesn't.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    I have no icons on my desktop.

    I think the desktop is the worst place for access to my things. If you have anything open, you need to minimize them to get to the desktop icons.

    I use the Quick Launch toolbar and keep it squeezed to the left of the taskbar. If you add lots of links to that toolbar then you'll see a small arrow at the right of the Quick Launch. Click to access all your stuff easily.
    I have no icons on my desktop (except the recycle bin ) either. I like a nice clean space. I use quick launch too, but I don't like the arrow so I minimize the icons to the programs I use most. I also use the xp start menu to keep icons I access most pinned.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    I have no icons on my desktop.

    I think the desktop is the worst place for access to my things. If you have anything open, you need to minimize them to get to the desktop icons.

    I use the Quick Launch toolbar and keep it squeezed to the left of the taskbar. If you add lots of links to that toolbar then you'll see a small arrow at the right of the Quick Launch. Click to access all your stuff easily.
    I do this, except I have Icons on my desktop that go with it...my newest music downloads are on my desktop for easy finding.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    SuperScript's Avatar User Title...What?
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    84
    You can easily do it in TweakUI.
    Formerly [Spam]

    Join My Forums: JAB - Just Another Board - http://www.justanotherboard.tk/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •