Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Going for a cpu upgrade

  1. #1
    Gripper's Avatar Dexter's Apprentice.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshir
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,008
    I'm thinking of getting a Athlon xp2500,I have just got a new mobo MSI K7N2 Delta 2 and have heard that the chip can be overclocked easy,thoughts and advice appreciated..Ta

    All spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in my post's are intentional.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Is it a Barton core? And what is your memory speed . I think you need PC2700 memory or higher for overclocking . My roomate has asked me aswell , so I 'm following this thread closely .

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    if you want to oc then you should probably get some pc3200 (400mhz) ram to keep up with that high fsb you will have when you oc.

    some thermal paste (arctic silver 5) would help cooling quite a bit. (you spread it on top of the cpu core, then the heatsink goes on top and it helps the heat transfer)
    Last edited by tesco; 12-01-2004 at 02:26 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    What do you have now?

    That board with a 2500XP is pretty much the same speed as a 3200XP, to me....in everyday use. You will love either, trust me.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    like most says...hte barton core is 333mhz (if i remember right) and amd runs best when its the cpu/mem is 1:1 ratio. so if you are ocing, you would need pc3200 like roscco says. but the 2500 itself is fast enough if you arent doing stuff like video encoding or too much gaming.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    If your getting a 2500+ I would get the mobile version which has been known to clock from 2.5 Ghz all the way up to 2.8Ghz, depending of coarse on the chip and your cooling.
    They run at a much lower voltage and the multiplyers are all unlocked on the mobile chips where the desktop chips are now all locked.
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Gripper's Avatar Dexter's Apprentice.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshir
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,008
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdawgfoxx
    What do you have now?

    That board with a 2500XP is pretty much the same speed as a 3200XP, to me....in everyday use. You will love either, trust me.
    Ihave at the moment a amd 2000xp with pc2700(133mhz) if i'm understanding right,I took this up to 1.8ghz then chickened a bit,so it sounds like its worth getting a 2500,some good thermal paste and some good quality pc3200,that with a half decent graphics card should set me up nice for a while.
    Any recommendations on graphics cards in the 70 quid kind of region,I'm only using a geforce mx400 at the moment and would like to be able to play Dues Ex 2,but can't with the current graphics card

    All spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in my post's are intentional.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Quote Originally Posted by kaiweiler
    If your getting a 2500+ I would get the mobile version which has been known to clock from 2.5 Ghz all the way up to 2.8Ghz, depending of coarse on the chip and your cooling.
    They run at a much lower voltage and the multiplyers are all unlocked on the mobile chips where the desktop chips are now all locked.

    I second that. Pick up a mobile 2500+, or 2600+ if you can afford it (10 extra bucks usually). But mobile is the way to go.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •