Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: floppy drive!! help needed....

  1. #1
    sameer0807's Avatar I aIn'T nO sErIoUs
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    - = C.a.N.a.D.A = -
    Age
    30
    Posts
    961
    Hello fellows,

    My computer didn't come with a floppy drive so i had to purchase a separate floppy drive for my computer. I installed it OK…the floppy drive green light lights up and seems like it’s working but when I go into C drive…I don’t see any option for A drive (floppy drive)…

    Why is that so?? What should I do in order to run that floppy drive on my computer…

    Please help me!!

    "I'll be here... I'll be 'waiting'...here... I'll be waiting... for you ... so... If you come here... You'll find me. I promise..."

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    It shouldn't be in C, it should be in 'My Computer'.

    Also, were there any drivers?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    sameer0807's Avatar I aIn'T nO sErIoUs
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    - = C.a.N.a.D.A = -
    Age
    30
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by Samurai
    It shouldn't be in C, it should be in 'My Computer'.
    yeh that's wat i meant..sorry...

    Also, were there any drivers?
    nope..no drivers came along the floppy drive!

    "I'll be here... I'll be 'waiting'...here... I'll be waiting... for you ... so... If you come here... You'll find me. I promise..."

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Is it in your device manager?

    right click my computer > properties > hardware

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Are you using a twisted cable ? Is it plugged in right?


    http://www.buildyourown.org.uk/build...-cables&page=2

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Quote Originally Posted by sameer0807
    Hello fellows,

    My computer didn't come with a floppy drive so i had to purchase a separate floppy drive for my computer. I installed it OK…the floppy drive green light lights up and seems like it’s working but when I go into C drive…I don’t see any option for A drive (floppy drive)…

    Why is that so?? What should I do in order to run that floppy drive on my computer…

    Please help me!!
    Wait, Does the green light stay lit up? Maybe cable is on wrong?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    The drive should have markings to show pin #1 to #34 for the flat cable. The motherboard should have similar. Be sure that the drive's pin #1 connects with pin #1 of the board. The cable has a stripe along the wire #1.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •