Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [Grub] Computer wouldn't boot :s

  1. #1
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    this morning i woke up and turn on the computer only to be greeted with

    "GRUB |" on the screen.


    I ahve windows xp, and suse 9.1 installed. Along with GRUB for the boot loader.

    Well after school I just reinstalled suse9.1 and I can now boot into windows and linux.

    but any idea what might have caused Grub to get corrupted?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    what were you playing with before you shut down last ?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    was using fireworks mx 2004, power point and word 2003, firefox (on fst), azureus was downloading, folding@home was...folding.
    That's pretty much all i did on the computer yesterday.

    Nothing related to linux or anything off ordinary computer use.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    seems a bit odd. normally the bootloader messes up if you play around with partition tables, move drives about or generally piss about with the mbr.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    I resized the linux partition last weekend or maybe longer ago but not sure how that could make it stop working today.


    is there a way to make a bootable floppy that will boot straight to windows?
    Last edited by tesco; 12-06-2004 at 10:09 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    xp boot disk

    where exactly did you install grub to ? I normally place it in the master boot record but using the nt bootloader is also possible.

    guide

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play
    xp boot disk

    where exactly did you install grub to ? I normally place it in the master boot record but using the nt bootloader is also possible.

    guide
    not sure i didn't really pay attention.
    Is there a way to find out?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    have a look in the yast tool and find the options for bootloader. it should have all the information you need there.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •