Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: cant boot an OS...

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    just what it says
    i wiped a drive for my bro...now i cant install shit on it
    except for Win XP, only thing that'll boot
    and this PC dont have the cajones for XP i think
    its an OLD bitch
    celeron 600 MHz...60 somethin MB RAM, etc, etc
    tried Win 98, tried to put Win ME back on it (even though i dont want to)
    only thing that'll boot is XP
    the BIOS is setup, everything seems as it should be....
    i have to be overlookin something...any ideas? TIA

    (hes givin the pc away, so no, buying a better pc isnt what i'm lookin for)
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    It sounds like you need a startup diskette.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    if only XP will boot, then you need to get a bootable 98, or google for a boot floppy disk


    edit: d'oh, i would have beaten you to reply if my inet hadnt chosen that moment to disconnect :p
    Last edited by vivitron 15; 12-06-2004 at 11:35 PM.
    <insert signature here>

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by vivitron 15

    edit: d'oh, i would have beaten you to reply if my inet hadnt chosen that moment to disconnect :p

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Just curious if also tried Win2KPro by any chance...

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    just curious as to what filesystem you are using. if only xp works maybe its because its a ntfs partition so older version of windows do not work.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    yeah i figured that must be it with Win 98
    (hell i have never had to install 98 before)

    but, see, here in lies the problem...within the problem...
    i got a copy of the Win 98 boot disk...but it wont format
    matter of fact...i cant format floppies at all now
    and i just replaced my floppy drive for this very reason
    (i think my mobo could be goin to shit or somethin)
    thats ok if it does...then i got an excuse to get me an AMD64 + 939 mobo

    sheesh, i think Jess just needs to keep from...
    putting porn on his PC and then deciding to give it to an ex
    this is causing me too much grief
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by RealitY
    Just curious if also tried Win2KPro by any chance...
    its on the way, getting the all windows dvds just for shits and giggles


    Quote Originally Posted by 4play
    just curious as to what filesystem you are using
    FAT32, i formatted it myself with my Acronis boot cd
    (i didnt think Win 98 supported NTFS)
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    SuperScript's Avatar User Title...What?
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    84
    Windows 9x CD's aren't bootable.

    Get a Windows 98 bootdisk from http://www.bootdisk.com/
    Formerly [Spam]

    Join My Forums: JAB - Just Another Board - http://www.justanotherboard.tk/

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperScript
    Windows 9x CD's aren't bootable.
    yeah i just found that out
    dude i never had to mess with Win 98 before
    all i know is it has to do better than ME

    but anyway, got it sorted, my freakin case was interfering with my floppy drive
    fuckin HP, i'll never buy another pc from their asses

    but got the 98 boot disk done now, thanks all
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •