Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How To Format Hard Drive

  1. #1
    trajillo's Avatar Fitter Happier
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Meccamputechture, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    856
    Hey i got 2 hard drives right... one(18gb) and two (120gb) no i recentlty cloned the 18 to 120 and it boots find without the 18 plugged in now when plug in the 18 and boot it get an error saying some file is coppurt or something similar.. now i want to format this 18 .. how will i do that in system boot.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    not sure what the problem is...my only idea is that the jumpers on the back of the drive must be set wrong? it should be slave if it's hooked up to the same cable as your 120gb drive, or master if it's on the end of one (the master of the primary cable should be your 120gb drive).


    to format it you need to get ahold of a dos boot disc (also known as a startup disc, windows 98 boot disc, and other names).

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    get a bootdisk.
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 12-07-2004 at 10:12 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    You could connect the 18 GB as a slave, leaving your 120 GB as the master, boot up the system and then go to My Computer. Right click on the 18 GB drive's icon and select 'Format'.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    trajillo's Avatar Fitter Happier
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Meccamputechture, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    856
    yeah i have the 120 as MASTER and the 18 as SLAVE but everytime i connect the 18 as slave it trys to boot windows off it and because windows is probbly corrupt it has a error message.. but when i unplug the 18 SLAVE it boots the windows off the 120 perfectly? maybe the 18 has bad sectors?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    then just plug the 18gb into master and take the 120 out.
    use a windows 98 boot\startup disc and type fdisk and delete all of the partitions on the drive.
    Then hok it back up as slave and connect the 120gb and see what happens.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by trajillo
    get an error saying some file is coppurt or something
    hal.dll ?
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    trajillo's Avatar Fitter Happier
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Meccamputechture, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    856
    yeah thats right hal.dll?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •