Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help me pick out a mobo and cpu

  1. #1
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461

    Tongue

    Its Christmas time!! Alright I can get a new PC for Christmas but can someone help me choose a mobo and cpu? Im buying from cyberpowersystem.com. The options are:

    MOBO:
    (939-pin Socket) ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 MAINBOARD WITH LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO
    (939-pin Socket) GigaByte GA-K8NS ULTRA-939 nForce3 Chipset AGP8X w/LAN,USB2,IEEE,&Audio
    (939-pin Socket) ASUS A8V DELUXE VIA K8T800 MAINBOARD WITH LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO
    (754-pin Socket) Abit KV8 PRO VIA K8T800 Chipset AGP8X w/LAN,USB2,&Audio
    (754-pin Socket) ASUS K8N nForce3 250 Chipset AGP8X w/LAN,USB2, &Audio
    (754-pin Socket) GigaByte GA-K8NS nForce3 250 Chipset AGP8X w/LAN,USB2,&Audio
    (754-pin Socket) DFI LANPARTY UT NF3 250Gb Chipset AGP8X w/Audio,LAN,&USB
    (754-pin Socket) ASUS K8V SE Deluxe VIA K8T800 Chipset AGP8X w/LAN,USB2,IEEE,&Audio

    CPU:
    (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 FX 55 Processor
    (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 4000+ Processor
    (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3800+ Processor
    (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3500+ Processor
    (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3200+ Processor
    (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3000+ Processor
    (754-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3700+ Processor
    (754-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3400+ Processor
    (754-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3200+ Processor
    (754-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3000+ Processor
    (754-pin) AMD ATHLON64 2800+ Processor


    The Computer right now is at a (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3500+ Processor and a (939-pin Socket) ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 MAINBOARD WITH LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO with all the rest of the asseccories (CD burner, DVD drive, etc.) is at $905. I have no idea which is better than the other so please help me out.

    EDIT: The absolute most should be $905.
    Last edited by silent h3ro; 12-08-2004 at 12:30 AM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Check out the MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum : http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...tinum&class=mb

    And the new 90mn 939pin Athlon 64: The 3000+ and 3200+

    http://www.amdreview.com/reviews.php?rev=3000-3200-90nm

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Check out the MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum : http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...tinum&class=mb

    And the new 90mn 939pin Athlon 64: The 3000+ and 3200+

    http://www.amdreview.com/reviews.php?rev=3000-3200-90nm
    Theres no option for the MSI is there?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    I can only choose the above options because im buying it from a custom computer building website.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Well your only motherboard with the Nvidia chipset is the GigaByte GA-K8NS and it's a lot more expensive than the MSI. So much so that it puts itself out of an acceptable price range.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Well your only motherboard with the Nvidia chipset is the GigaByte GA-K8NS and it's a lot more expensive than the MSI. So much so that it puts itself out of an acceptable price range.
    Wait I need an Nvidia chipset for Nvidia graphics cards? What if I want an ATI?

    EDIT:
    Last edited by silent h3ro; 12-08-2004 at 12:53 AM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Your original choice (Abit mobo + A64 3500) is probably as good as you will get for the money (I think that's what you were asking).

    You don't need Nvidia chipset to use a Nvidia graphics card, and an Ati graphics card should work fine if you go for the Nvidia chipset.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    Your original choice (Abit mobo + A64 3500) is probably as good as you will get for the money (I think that's what you were asking).

    You don't need Nvidia chipset to use a Nvidia graphics card, and an Ati graphics card should work fine if you go for the Nvidia chipset.
    Ok thanks for clearing that up. I switched the CPU down to the (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3200+ Processor and the price dropped to $815. I chose the Abit mobo and 1GB memory, and I am going to use my GeForce FX 5700 Ultra from my current PC. Do u think its a good computer for gaming?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Yes. 1 GB of ram definetly helps.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Ok thx guys I got the 3500+ and the Abit. I can't wait till I get the computer on Christmas Eve!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •