Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: IE Icon Help

  1. #1
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    For some reason after playing age of empires 2, my internet explorer icon changes from this... to this.... And now I cant change it back from this!! How can I get it back to the way I want it? Help! Please and thankyou!
    Last edited by orcutt989; 12-13-2004 at 01:13 AM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    are you runnning at 256 colours?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    No?
    I am running at 32 bit. And my IE icon in my taskbar is fine, it is just the one on my desktop. I had a problem with this on my other computer with that game too, it would change the IE icon.
    Last edited by orcutt989; 12-13-2004 at 01:24 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    does it still open ie? where is the shortcut pointing to?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Try this:

    http://www.tweakxp.com/tweak1255.aspx

    and what version of windows are you runnung?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,624
    It changes from the .exe icon to a shortcut to the .exe?? Are you sure the first isnt a shortcut also? Does it reset if you restart your pc?

    I would try these methods:

    Try replacing the second icon with a copy of the first by right clicking the icon > change icon.

    You may also want to remove the little shortcut arrows for a cleaner look by doing this or using TweakUI.
    Last edited by Skizo; 12-13-2004 at 01:53 AM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    NO. It does not change it to the shortcut, only to that 256 color mode icon. I am running Windows XP Professional. And you cannot change the icon, because clicking properties brings up internet properties, because it is not a shortcut.. And yes it still opens IE, the Icon just changed from a 32 bit color icon, to a 256 color icon..



    EDIT: Deleting my "Icon Cache" in my Application Data did nothing, I deleted it, and refreshed my desktop and nothing happened, so I just restored it.
    Last edited by orcutt989; 12-13-2004 at 02:37 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Alright, I fixed it using Style XP to roll back my icons to the original XP installation. But I still would like to know why only that icon changes?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,624
    Strange that it's doing it to your IE icon. AoE2 used to do that to my Outlook Express icon but never the IE one. I dont think I ever fixed it though . Dont remember, it's been a loooong time.
    Last edited by Skizo; 12-13-2004 at 04:57 AM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    the firefox icon is nicer
    maybe you should consider using firefox as your browser

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •