Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Reformatting Question

  1. #1
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    does reformatting wreck your harddrive?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    define "wreck".

    You mean does it destroy the hard drive and make it unusable?

    Why do you want to reformat?
    Last edited by Skizo; 12-13-2004 at 09:49 AM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    my comps a fuckin POS thats why.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    cpt_azad's Avatar Colonel
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Surrey, BC
    Posts
    6,741
    it doesn't wreck it, it just wipes out everything that was on the harddrive to begin with, which is basically so you can install a new OS. But hey u got it running at 2 ghz, why the reformat (and no ur comp isn't crap, i've seen much worst).

    Jeff Loomis: He's so good, he doesn't need to be dead to have a tribute.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    if you reformat, then you'll lose your data, unless you either:

    a) burn your files, docs etc.. to CD, or pref DVD, or
    b) partition your HDD, save all your files, docs etc... to partition (B) and reformat (A)

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    Backup the stuff on DVD or a secondary hd that you cant live without, then reformat and start fresh. Its not gonna "wreck" anything, its gonna wipe it out.
    Last edited by Skizo; 12-13-2004 at 10:03 AM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    yea i partition. (i got it running at 2.6 but after running a few apps at once it overheated then rebooted)

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    cpt_azad's Avatar Colonel
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Surrey, BC
    Posts
    6,741
    Quote Originally Posted by mofos
    yea i partition. (i got it running at 2.6 but after running a few apps at once it overheated then rebooted)
    ouch, what was the default speed at for the proc. u got now?

    Jeff Loomis: He's so good, he doesn't need to be dead to have a tribute.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    cpt_azad's Avatar Colonel
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Surrey, BC
    Posts
    6,741
    go on msn

    Jeff Loomis: He's so good, he doesn't need to be dead to have a tribute.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •