Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Installing A PCI Graphics Card

  1. #1
    SuperScript's Avatar User Title...What?
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    84
    As you have probably read in my previous thread, I am considering purchasing a PCI video card to replace my integrated video. I have to get a PCI card because I don't have an AGP slot.

    I have a question. How would I install one?

    Let me first tell you a couple of things:

    - There is no option in the BIOS to disable the integrated video
    - I doubt there are jumpers to disable integrated video

    I've read at various sites that this is the procedeure to install one:

    - Install the PCI card
    - Boot into Windows
    - New Hardware should be found
    - Disable integrated video from Device Manager
    - Uninstall old video drivers
    - Install the new video drivers
    - Plug monitor into new card

    Is the above correct?

    And does it matter which PCI slot I use?
    Formerly [Spam]

    Join My Forums: JAB - Just Another Board - http://www.justanotherboard.tk/

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    doesnt matter which PCI slot you use
    above is correct

    again, im gonna ask if you really wanna put in a really outdated video card in a machine with an obviously outdated mobo...........

    i dont mean 2 be dissin your machine or anything, but how do you know that the video card is the bottleneck? right now upgrading your mobo to a new one with a integrated videocard will prolly even give you a greater performance boost.......

    id really advise against it, but it is up 2 you of course........

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    I agree. Besides a mobo is far cheaper

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    An AMD mobo that takes up to 3000XP, has 2 DDR Ram sloos and a 8X AGP graphics card slot was less than 15 from ebuyer 2 months ago, havnt had a problem with it so far.


  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by peerzyboy
    An AMD mobo that takes up to 3000XP, has 2 DDR Ram sloos and a 8X AGP graphics card slot was less than 15 from ebuyer 2 months ago, havnt had a problem with it so far.
    What board is that, peerzyboy?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Pcchips KT266A SKT A DDR266 ATA133 AGP Sound LAN USB 2.0 ATX Retail Box


    My bad, its about 16 after VAT,

    13.62
    16.01 inc VAT

    Can say iv ahd no trouble with it, and it was one my first experiences building a pc made with all different custom parts. I got through it in a weekend, with only about 2 hours work each day. Setup was easy and came with all the needed screws cables and what not.

    The system is used everyday for light internet useage and Micrsoft Money, running XP.

    It was something like a 2500Xpp Barton
    256mb ram

    System was built out of scaps and was under 100 as my grandfathers old P2 had finnaly died on him.
    Last edited by peerzyboy; 12-14-2004 at 12:23 PM.


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    That things not running at its full potential lolol...but Yeah, that is pretty cheap.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdawgfoxx
    That things not running at its full potential lolol...but Yeah, that is pretty cheap.
    Ofcourse its not ment to be op of the range full kited out high tech piece of hardware. Its less than 2X the price of a Bargin Bucket at KFC!!!


  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    SuperScript's Avatar User Title...What?
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    84
    I don't want to upgrade my motherboard becasue of compatibility issues.

    If you haven't already figured it out, I have a store bought computer.

    I guess I'm afraid that there are proprietory parts that won't work with a new motherboard.

    I've learned a lesson. Don't get pre-built store bought computers.

    In 2 years I will be getting a new computer and I will be building it.
    Formerly [Spam]

    Join My Forums: JAB - Just Another Board - http://www.justanotherboard.tk/

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    ok, well then you should be ready to go (if you can, ask if you can return it to the store if it doesnt work (just say youve got a comp that is really pickey bout hardware), so that you can return it if it turns out it doesnt give that much of an result.......

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •