Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: reinstalled dvd problem

  1. #1
    sArA's Avatar Ex-Moderatererer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,765
    I have replaced my cdrw with a dvdr. It used to be in this comp but I replaced it with a dvdrw.

    I thought I could copy dvds directly rather than placing the stuff on my hard drive first.

    Anyway, for some reason it is only showing as a cdr and wont play dvds. I am wondering about conflicts and stuff. It seems to be working ok, device manager says so, but it definately thinks its a cdr not a dvdr.

    Any ideas?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Did it come with any software? If not, check the company's site.
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    sArA's Avatar Ex-Moderatererer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,765
    Nope....it was originally factory installed and worked just fine in the top slot. I now have it in the lower slot which was where the old cdrw was. Its not been used for about 2 months since I replaced it with the dvdrw. I just thought I would swap the old cdrw with the dvdr....its very odd and I think something has gone pear shaped!

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    So can it can read and burn dvds?

    Most dvds are 6-8 GB so you will have to use hd space to be able to copy them.
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    sArA's Avatar Ex-Moderatererer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,765
    Quote Originally Posted by SingaBoiy
    So can it can read and burn dvds?

    Most dvds are 6-8 GB so you will have to use hd space to be able to copy them.

    Ok....I have plenty of hd space...around 10gig spare....

    It is not a burner it is just a player....but it seems to think it is a cdr not a dvd and won't play dvd, just opens the disc like a cdr and shows the dvd files.

    my burner is working fine (as we speak I have burnt 2 dvds no problem)


    What I want to do is copy a dvd from the player to the dvd in the burner
    Last edited by sArA; 12-16-2004 at 11:24 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    sArA's Avatar Ex-Moderatererer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,765
    Ok...another problem...I think I am gonna put everything back.....

    my burner will burn but wont play and is now showing as a cd...I think something is very wrong.....


    Oh...btw...just checked the discs in my dvd player with the tv...works fine.
    Last edited by sArA; 12-16-2004 at 11:31 AM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    remove the burner from 'the hardware list in windows' and reboot now windows will auto recognize it and it should be ok.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    sArA's Avatar Ex-Moderatererer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,765
    ok...will give it a go...ta

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    You say you can "see" the files of the DVD yet they won't "play"?

    What DVD playing application are you using if any?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •