Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Lost all my data :(

  1. #1
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    yesterday my 2nd HD stopped working


    it had all my Xvid movies / TV series / 15 GB of music / software (all adobe shit etc..) on it (total: 100GB)



    I lost EVERYTHING

  2. Lounge   -   #2
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    Fook, that isn't good

  3. Lounge   -   #3
    ahctlucabbuS's Avatar <
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    2,008
    It certainly isn't.

    But look on the bright side, atleast you avoid the hazzle of manually deleting files for space

    You could however try to recover your files,

    http://www.runtime.org/gdb.htm

    Never used it myself, found it on a blog I read regulary. The guy writing the blog apparently got most of his data back using the above software.

  4. Lounge   -   #4
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    oh man, I had that happen to a NEW HD I bought a few years back. I was pissed too.
    Situations like this suck, but they do remind us to BACKUP, BACKUP, BACKUP data we want to keep.
    Last edited by backlash; 12-21-2004 at 02:31 PM.

  5. Lounge   -   #5
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Barky
    It certainly isn't.

    But look on the bright side, atleast you avoid the hazzle of manually deleting files for space

    You could however try to recover your files,

    http://www.runtime.org/gdb.htm

    Never used it myself, found it on a blog I read regulary. The guy writing the blog apparently got most of his data back using the above software.
    THnx will check it out

  6. Lounge   -   #6
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    didnt work.. my bios needs to detect the drive before that program can scan the disk

    Problems is my bios can't detect it. so I think its completely broken

    Will email the store where I bought it, I hope I will recieve a new because this one is only a year old (receipt says 36 month's guarantee)
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 12-21-2004 at 03:09 PM.

  7. Lounge   -   #7
    TheDave's Avatar n00b
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    yorkshire, england
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,982
    that happened to one of mine. i think it's a gonna. i tried everything on mine but if it wont boot i think thats that

  8. Lounge   -   #8
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDave
    that happened to one of mine. i think it's a gonna. i tried everything on mine but if it wont boot i think thats that

    I'm currently using a slow connection, it would take me month's to download everything again

    shit happens... just hoping I get a new disk for free.

  9. Lounge   -   #9
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    pm sent

  10. Lounge   -   #10
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    you could try the software SpinRite at www.grc.com - i havent found a warez version, but it aint expensive
    <insert signature here>

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •