Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Storage alternatives?

  1. #1
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    i'm always looking around for some new ideas to get free space. i can't really stuff any more hdds in my tower, so what are some alternatives?

    external drives are a bit expensive. i saw some server-ish things that were strictly for external storage ( some with hdds, some without ) but i can't remember where or when.

    it cant be that hard to set up a file server can it? what do you suggest to use for it? i would assume just an older pc with some special specs + NIC....

    suggestions appreciated.
    Last edited by lee551; 12-22-2004 at 12:00 AM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    DVD burner.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    DVD burner.
    that is always an option. but keeping track of all the cds may become a hassle. i suppose it would work to store away some of my movies....

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    i asked the same question some time ago (but that musta gotten deleted), but the best thing prolly is like you said an old PC, it doesnt have to be a fast one, prolly the slower (=less heat) the better........ no optical drives (take up space), cept to install linux (windows is prolly easier, but demands more of your fileserver to run hard disks over 128 GiB (win 2k SP4 or win XP SP1 )

    and yeah, it would need a nic......... id go for gigabit LAN, since im impatient and dont wanna wait 3 minuits for a movie (of course this does make it alot more expensive)

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Uh...you can prob fit at least 3 HDDs in ur comp..thats like 750GB of storage...
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdawgfoxx
    Uh...you can prob fit at least 3 HDDs in ur comp..thats like 750GB of storage...
    More than that, Dawg.
    Seagate makes a 400gig drive now.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdawgfoxx
    Uh...you can prob fit at least 3 HDDs in ur comp..thats like 750GB of storage...
    jup, but then the older HDD's you have have to go........ and that costs money.......
    besides which, that for some people isnt enough
    Last edited by Storm; 12-23-2004 at 12:32 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Yeah.
    Like Google maybe.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Yeah.
    Like Google maybe.
    no seriously, the former (PIP, we will miss you) Torrentbits alot of guys had over 1TB of disk space......

    if your a hardcore downloader with a fat pipe, big budget and a collecting disorder (unfortunatly, im only the last part of that), you can never have enough disk space

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdawgfoxx
    Uh...you can prob fit at least 3 HDDs in ur comp..thats like 750GB of storage...
    believe it or not, my case only has 2 bays for hdds and they're both full. i have 2-120GB drives in there. ( i know thats not a LOT, but it worked long enuf )

    i am thinking of just buying an older pc on ebay or something and fitting it out with some nice fat disks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •