Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Game is laggy...but why??

  1. #1
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    I've recently bought the pc game Far Cry and I am having problems with game being extremely laggy. I don't mean laggy like it's a little jumpy, (though it is) but the main problem is that it seems to almost freeze up for 30 seconds or so at a time. This seems to happen when other characters are on the screen such as "bad guys". The only other game that I play is Call of Duty: United Offensive and I put the video settings on high and it runs just fine. If you ask me the graphics are better with CoD:UO than with Far Cry. I also have all of the video settings turned down to the lowest settings. So the question is, why does the game behave this way? Here are my specs.




    Last edited by Skizo; 12-30-2004 at 08:08 AM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    COD:UO is based on a 5 year old engine. Far Cry isn't even a year old.

    A Radeon 8500, I don't think, has full DirectX 9 capabilities. If it does, the card is still pretty damn old, and 2 generations behind now.

    You need a new videocard, really.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    holy crap... your way behind!! you got a radeon in the 8000's.. dear god... get a at least 9200 or something!!! i reccomend a 9800PRO!

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    FarCry works fine with my 9200se
    just dont get too brave with the texture settings

    also playing with 256 RAM is a nightmare
    but 30 second lag is evil


  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Formula1's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,786
    Seriously dude , get a new Video Card , thats why the game lags ....

    I played Far Cry on lowest settings with a radeon 9000se card on lowest settings and it seemed to work good...

    Radeon 9600 is a good video card , and its only around 100$-150$ if you go to websites like newegg.com ....

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Quote Originally Posted by Fiber
    FarCry works fine with my 9200se
    just dont get too brave with the texture settings

    also playing with 256 RAM is a nightmare
    but 30 second lag is evil

    Ok, I didn't think I was that far behind but, I guess so. Only problem is, my pc is in a Shuttle enclosure and I'm not sure it can handle the heat of a 9800 pro. . Also the Radeon 8500 does come with DirectX 9C.

    also playing with 256 RAM is a nightmare
    You or me?
    I have 512



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Skizo
    Ok, I didn't think I was that far behind but, I guess so. Only problem is, my pc is in a Shuttle enclosure and I'm not sure it can handle the heat of a 9800 pro. . Also the Radeon 8500 does come with DirectX 9C.
    It should work with a 9800 pro, tho' I don't think you'll have much room for a pci card.

    The ideal thing, heatwise, might be a 9600xt or a nvidia 6600gt, though.

    EDit: what kind of processor is that you are using btw?
    Last edited by Snee; 12-30-2004 at 07:25 PM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by Skizo
    You or me?
    I have 512
    i used to play it with 256
    then i got extra ram

    i was just mentioning from experience


  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Skizo
    Also the Radeon 8500 does come with DirectX 9C.
    he means hardware directx9 support.

    Only the radeon 9500-x800(or whatever the newest card is). the 9200 doesn't do it.

    and for nvidia all of the fx cards (5200-6800) have directx9 support.

    i think the only card that does directx9.0c is the geforce fx 6800.(maybe the 6600).
    Last edited by tesco; 12-30-2004 at 07:47 PM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    what kind of processor is that you are using btw?
    AMD Athlon xp 2100+ 1.7 ghz



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •