Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: System Error?

  1. #1
    razorsharp013's Avatar Fountain of Wit
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    679
    My system log is literally full of this error:

    The name "MSHOME :1d" could not be registered on the Interface with IP address 192.168.1.100. The machine with the IP address 192.168.1.101 did not allow the name to be claimed by this machine.

    Also a couple of weeks ago my IP changed from 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.101 and that error message was the opposite. A few days ago it changed back to .100 I didn't mess with the router at all so I don't know what that's all about. It doesn't seem to have any real effects that I can tell other than filling up my system log with all these errors.

    I don't know. Any ideas?

    Oh yeah....Windows XP Home and Linksys WRT54G router with latest firmware.
    Last edited by razorsharp013; 12-31-2004 at 12:18 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    check your router settings. ( 192.168.0.1 )

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    razorsharp013's Avatar Fountain of Wit
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    679
    I really don't know enough about it to be screwing around with settings, which is why I asked.

    And sorry if this should be in hardware.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    check the manual you received when you bought it. it will tell you how to change your settings.

    Give your pc name the same name as you can see in the router settings.
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 12-31-2004 at 12:50 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    is there another computer on your network, b/c if there is it's probably taking that IP address.

    I'd also secure your wireless network so that noone can get on but you or other machines you choose.

    do this by:
    • enabling WEP or WPA

    • enable MAC filtering

    • turning off SSID

    • limit # of users on your network to only the amount that are needed
    Last edited by backlash; 12-31-2004 at 02:36 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    are two computers trying to use that same IP now?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Quote Originally Posted by razorsharp013
    I really don't know enough about it to be screwing around with settings, which is why I asked.

    And sorry if this should be in hardware.
    It's rwally easy to check up on the setting to start with you ought to at least log in a with that ip and check whether everything looks right. If it's two puters shering the same ip then you know what to do, otherwise you can report back here and say what it's set to .

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •