Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: what am i doing wrong when burning a xvid to DVD-R

  1. #1
    KazaaBoy's Avatar Nothing On The Moon.
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    356

    Surprised/Amazed

    I converted a Xvid to MPEG-2 file with TMPGEnc and many other conversion programes to a DVD-R and burn it but the film always ends up skipping and freezing 5-8 minutes into the film??

    is there any remedy to this or am I doing something wrong? I wasted 10 DVD-R cd's and don't want to waste anymore. Can someone help me with this please!!

  2. Movies & TV   -   #2

  3. Movies & TV   -   #3
    KazaaBoy's Avatar Nothing On The Moon.
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    356
    thanks, but what's the reason for it skipping?

  4. Movies & TV   -   #4
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by KazaaBoy
    thanks, but what's the reason for it skipping?
    maybe bad encoding or your DVD player doesnt support the brand disks you are using...

  5. Movies & TV   -   #5
    could be cheap media...you can scan the disc and check to see if you have a good burn have a look at this thread http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=96285 it can be dry reading but you may be surprized at the quality differences in burning with different media,on different burners

  6. Movies & TV   -   #6
    KazaaBoy's Avatar Nothing On The Moon.
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    356
    ok, this is my DVD player
    http://shopping.yahoo.com/p:Sony%20D...8:page=details
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers....y=Name&hits=25

    I really need your help solving this one out and pin pointing the problem as I paid 50 to get it region code free and watch any movie imported from any country so I will not be buying another DVD player for a long time.

    Now to the problem, I looked at the link accat13 gave me and done some tests. I have the TYG02 Taiyo Yuden DVD-R cd's. Now, I don't know if it's the encoding because the movies work fine on a normal DVD player on the PC. I don't know about the DVD-R brands but I may try DVD+R and see what happens.

    Also, should I encode it with a high bitrate or a low one. I know the higher gives better quality but maybe my DVD player can't take that much bitrate or I don't know, I am going crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    There must be a way to fix this, anyone help!!

  7. Movies & TV   -   #7
    kazaa2002's Avatar lost
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    near oz
    Posts
    234
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/forum_view.cfm/44

    http://www.videohelp.com/forum/

    in these forums you may find some answers
    please try Ike's request first

    it may be something as simple as turning off programs
    running in the backround

    the more you explain your problem the easier it is to find a solution.

    it is the small things that usually drive us mad

  8. Movies & TV   -   #8
    what kind of dvd burner are you using

  9. Movies & TV   -   #9
    KazaaBoy's Avatar Nothing On The Moon.
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    356
    Sony or Nec <-- very good burner, no problems.

    I am gonna try a NTSC to PAL conversion, if that doesn't help I don't know what to do.

  10. Movies & TV   -   #10
    muchspl2
    Guest
    too bad you paid for what is free
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.ph...t=Sony+DVP-PQ1
    you could have made your unit multi region for free.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •