Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60

Thread: New setup here

  1. #1
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Hi guys. I just got my new motherboard and CPU. 939 pin 64 bit.

    I tried doing a repair install of XP but it didn't work right. It kept saying that i couldn't read files from the CD but in fact the files were there and readable.

    Anyway, I did a fresh install on a test drive and I still had more problems. The install completed fine but at bootup of the fresh XP, there was some strange video corruption. I have changed my graphics card to an old GeForce 2 and now it boots up. Made this post with new setup.

    So, at this point I'm trying to see if there is a solution for this incompatibility between my graphics card and my new motherboard. (ATi 9600pro and MSI K8T NEO2 FIR)

    Wish me luck.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Ok um btw what 939 socket 64 bit cpu did u get? Just curious since I'm into AMD now.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    3000+ 90nm

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    3000+ 90nm
    Nice! Btw, good luck d00d.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by Gam3Guy
    Nice! Btw, good luck d00d.
    Thanks.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Nice setup.

    hope you get the video card working.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Got the card working. Cleaned the contacts and reseated it.

    Sometimes the simplest solutions work.

    Even my 'XP repair' install is working. But I will do a fresh install soon.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Another fresh install?

    btw, how much was the motherboard+processor?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Another fresh install because the one I just did is on a spare ATA66 "test" drive.

    CPU $202 CDN.
    MB $165 CDN.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Another fresh install because the one I just did is on a spare ATA66 "test" drive.

    CPU $202 CDN.
    MB $165 CDN.
    ahh that's too much for me to spend.

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •