Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Uninstalling Norton 2004

  1. #1
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Yeah Virtualbody has helped me in getting Symantec Anti-Virus/Internet Security Corporate, so I feel there is no need to have any of their Norton prodcuts on my PC. And plus, I have to renew in 7 days, that isnt going to happen. So I was looking in Add-Remove programs, and there is an entry for Internet Security, and a WMI update, but no Norton Antivirus. How can I completely get rid of Norton Antivirus and Internet Security?

    Should I just try installing over it? Peat Moss recommended that to me. That I shouldnt uninstall it at all, and just install Symantec Corporate?
    Last edited by orcutt989; 01-04-2005 at 07:31 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    I have a NAV in Add/Remove

    and a 'Norton WMI Update'



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Hmm well mine was preinstalled onto this computer. It is a 90 trial or something, that came with the Dell package. Maybe that would have something to do with it?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    i have a fix that will give you updates for liveupdate until something like 2116

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    I think it's safer to remove Norton before installing Symantec, just to keep things tidy, like.
    Check Symantec's manual removal instructions
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    nis includes norton av, so that's why u don't see it listed. choose change in add/remove programs and u can remove just av from there.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Oh I didnt know that. Well Samurai's fix worked great. I wont need to re-subscribe until 8/19/2115. And to my calculations that is.. 2200$ I just saved in subscription moneys.

    110 Years of Subscription x 20$ per year = 2200$

    I am a little scared though. Will someone think something is up on the AV Servers or something? "Oh someone bought 110 years of Norton AV, seems normal".
    Last edited by orcutt989; 01-04-2005 at 10:52 PM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    You can uninstall Internet Security and you'll be given a choice to uninstall the AV.

    If you install the Corp. then there isn't a subscription limit. It will just keep working.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    Oh I didnt know that. Well Samurai's fix worked great. I wont need to re-subscribe until 8/19/2115. And to my calculations that is.. 2200$ I just saved in subscription moneys.

    110 Years of Subscription x 20$ per year = 2200$

    I am a little scared though. Will someone think something is up on the AV Servers or something? "Oh someone bought 110 years of Norton AV, seems normal".
    they wouldn't know\notice\care.




    i'd try reinstalling then the entry would be added to add\remove programs.
    or maybe there's an uninstaller in the NAV directory.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    When I installed the Symantec Corp Anti virus it just asked if I wanted to remove the NSW 2005 Anti virus . I said yep . No problems here , I wanted to keep the other tools from NSW .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •