Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Why is my internet so slow...

  1. #1
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Why is my internet so slow lately? Right after I did a fresh install of Windows XP Pro I installed my Wireless Connection drivers and tried the internet out and it was slow as feck. MSN homepage took like 15 secs to load while FST took like 30 secs and when I tryed to dl shit like aim I get a top speed of 3 KB/s WTF! Even when I dled my COD patch I got only a top speed of probably 15 KB/s. WTF. I have Comcast Cable Internet and I share my connection but its never been this bad. Also I am connected to our home network wirelessly but still it was never even close to this bad. Before I got upwards 200KB/s easily dling AIM and such other programs. Whats wrong?

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    firewall???
    spyware?
    virus??

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    cause you touch yourself at night

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Samurai
    cause you touch yourself at night
    tee hee
    @ Spam King- I just installed XP so I don't think I could have gotten any of those so quickly but I guess I'll have get some anti-v and spware programs and scan my computer and see if that helps. Thx.

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    Have you tried turning off XP's built in firewall for your connection?

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    muchspl2
    Guest
    check your single strength, is it slow with it directly connected to the modem
    most like a weak single

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    what about the other computer? is it getting that shitty speed or is it normal?
    if both are shite then try plugging the modem directly into the computer.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by muchspl2
    check your single strength, is it slow with it directly connected to the modem
    most like a weak single
    My signal strength is the hightest it can get (Excelent) and it seems to be sending and recieving like normal. I set up my IP address, Gateway, DNS Servers, ect. correctly for our home network too. Everything is running normal yet its still slow. Thx for the help though, muchspl2.

    @ rossco_2004- Yea, both computers are running shitty on the connection and they are both set up correctly. I can't directly connect the modem to the computer because I dont have a RJ45 jack in either room.

    @Rick Phlegm- Yea, my Windows XP Firewall is off.

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Gam3Guy
    My signal strength is the hightest it can get (Excelent) and it seems to be sending and recieving like normal. I set up my IP address, Gateway, DNS Servers, ect. correctly for our home network too. Everything is running normal yet its still slow. Thx for the help though, muchspl2.

    @ rossco_2004- Yea, both computers are running shitty on the connection and they are both set up correctly. I can't directly connect the modem to the computer because I dont have a RJ45 jack in either room.

    @Rick Phlegm- Yea, my Windows XP Firewall is off.
    well, does transferring files from one computer to the other go slow as well?
    if not then it's a problem with your modem or ISP.
    try calling them, reset mode, reset router, etc.

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    You guys won't believe this but I did a bandwith test and here are my results: ( I dident photoshop this I sware. )

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •