Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: wow...i'm cursed

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    i have went through 2 motherboard in the last 2 months, neither have worked upon arrival. i went to newegg last week, ordered a Epox EP-8RDA3I and it arrived today. got it, poped it in, and i get a "FF" boot code on the LED. As far as i understand, "FF" either mean sucessful boot, or total failure. if it doesnt go through other code and goes straight to FF upon power up, its total failure....and that is the case.

    now back into the box it goes, another $7 to send it back to newegg, $8 restocking fee....

    *sigh* how can newegg do this to me....

    but on the other hand, 3 motherboard did the same thing, power up the fan, hdd, just no boot....could this be a cpu problem? DAMNIT...i have no other amd system to put my Amd in....

    guess I'll try an Asus....hopes it work, if not, im going to say "fuck it" and upgrade to 64bit

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    FF is at the end of the POST. Ready to load.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    not if it goes straight to FF upon powerup and my screen is blank

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Did you clear the CMOS?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    yea, cleared cmos, but what's weird is that even though the cmos is in "clear" it still powered up, heck, even w/o the cap on either cmos setting, it still powered up.

    shouldn't it....not power up if the cmos is set to clear?


    i've tried 2 different memory stick, tried removing everything execpt videocard.

    still nothing

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Elmo
    tried removing everything execpt videocard.
    Try removing the video card (I bet it's a Radeon).
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    you might be doing something wrong with the CPU.

    3 motherboards is dead bad luck.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    ok 3 mobos...is not luck...its probably what lynx said...the radeon....also do u have the copper standoffs installed on ur case before u put the screws for the mobo..?

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Elmo
    yea, cleared cmos, but what's weird is that even though the cmos is in "clear" it still powered up, heck, even w/o the cap on either cmos setting, it still powered up.

    shouldn't it....not power up if the cmos is set to clear?


    i've tried 2 different memory stick, tried removing everything execpt videocard.

    still nothing
    Powering up the board while the jumper is set to 'Clear CMOS' will cause damage to the board. NEVER DO THAT!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    yup, have the copper, have the standoff.

    w/o the videocard, it's still a "FF" as soon as i turn it on. I've tried switching the radeon with a old mx4000 but still no luck.....maybe newegg hates me.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •