Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Urgent Help Needed - No Internet!!!

  1. #1
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Hi All,

    Yesterday I decided to move my PC into my bedroom, on the other side of my house. I recently had a telephone line installed in there, and it is functioning perfectly.

    Now, yesterday I disassembled my PC (meaning taken all wires out etc) and moved it into my bedroom. I then reassembled it again, and this is where the problem is. Here are some facts...

    Everything is in as it was before.

    The modem is working fine.

    The NIC is working fine.

    I can browse my configuration on my modem via 192.168.1.1 so the connection to my PC / modem is working.

    Every light is showing on my modem, except 'Internet' which is obviously what I need.

    Now then. I have changed nothing with my PC except to move it, so it's nothing software based.

    I am using the same modem to post this topic via my dad's computer.

    The only thing I can think of is this.

    I am using a micro filter (currently in room 1 - the original room). When I moved the PC into room 2 (bedroom) I left the filter in Room 1 connected.

    The reason for this, is that room 2's only telephone is directly connected to the main telephone line in room 1 (it's the main line). Obviously my PC didn't work so I then moved the filter to room 2 and that didn't work.

    Do I need 2 filters or something? If so why?

    If this is not the cause what could it be? If anyone ever responded to one of my questions, I'd hope it's this. I am totally bewildered!!!

    I just can't understand why it works in one room but not another.


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    I've attached a pic, in case it's hard to understand.


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Anyone????


    Edit: Well I'm going out to buy another microfilter to see if that's what I need.
    Last edited by Samurai; 01-21-2005 at 09:43 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    you need a filter for everything that is connected to the line.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    The extension line must not go through a filter, the purpose of the filter is to cut out the high frequency from the phones, the modem itself is unfiltered.

    You can do this:

    Wall socket: splitter: microfilter & phone/unfiltered extension : microfilter : unfiltered modem

    You can't do this:

    Wall socket: microfilter: splitter: filtered phone/filtered extension : microfilter : filtered modem
    Last edited by lynx; 01-21-2005 at 10:30 AM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Quote Originally Posted by Livy
    you need a filter for everything that is connected to the line.
    yes i was assuming that one filter coming through the main line would have been enough. i'll let you know if it works...

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    bump
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    well the nearest pc specialist shop where i live is maplins

    we all know they charge high prices but i seem to have got a huge shock when i found out how much. i bought 2 filters (have 1 already) for 16.98

    unbelievable. they're on the net for 3 each. i'm gutted.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    It's going to annoy you even more when you find out you probably didn't need any.

    Edit: filters are 84p + vat from ebuyer.
    Last edited by lynx; 01-21-2005 at 10:46 AM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    i know but i'm desperate. i can't get it to work and it's pissing me off big time.

    i'll post a detailed picture in a minute...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •