Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: How to Overclock a videocard?

  1. #1
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    hmmm..... is there a thread or can anyone give me some instructions on how to overclock a video card?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    is it an ATI Radeon of Nvideo Geforce?

    for radeon's i think you need to download this program: http://rage3d.com/index.php?node=r3dtweak but there might also be others you could use.

    for geforce cards you need any driver installed as long as it isn't the built-into-XP one then do:
    start>run>regedit>find: "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak" then create a new "DWORD VALUE" and call it "coolbits" then give that a value of 3 (by double clicking it).
    That enables OCing.

    To OC it just right click my comp>properties>settings>advanced>click the tab with the name of your graphics card>click "clock settings">move the bars to choose a speed and click "test" then apply.
    Last edited by tesco; 01-23-2005 at 03:42 AM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    if its the 6600gt you mentioned in your other thread....why would you need to overclock it ?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    to get better performance... plus my leadtek 6600GT has one of the best overclock performance.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    So instead of 100 frames per second you need 105?

    And a chance to burn your very expensive card?

    Last edited by Virtualbody1234; 01-23-2005 at 02:27 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    yeah i got a 6800 gt and theres no way im ever overclocking it

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkeee
    to get better performance... plus my leadtek 6600GT has one of the best overclock performance.

    You are a Monkeee , you crazy bugger, don't over do it !

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    better performance on what? what games out there that your 6600gt can't handle? other than for bragging rights on benchmarks, i dont see the need for you to overclock it...but it's up to you.

    P.S. if you arent getting the expected performance on your card, it might be your cpu is bottlenecking(word?) it.
    Last edited by Mr. Elmo; 01-23-2005 at 07:29 PM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    well my card is like 43C Full Load... and leadtek had the best overclock performance

    *edit* wait nvm its 50C lol.. but when i OCed it it was the same temperature...50C.....
    Last edited by Monkeee; 01-23-2005 at 11:06 PM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkeee
    ... and leadtek had the best overclock performance
    lol..apparently vb's or my post wasnt read

    oh well, have fun overclocking your card

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •