Thread: Hard Drive Config

i have just bought a new 80gig harddrive and was wondering what the best configuration would be. at the moment i have may main 40 gig on primary master dual booting to me and xp pro with two other partitions for files and applications. i have cdwriter on primary slave, my 80 gig for games on secondary slave and a dvd rom on secondary slave. do you think this the correct configuration i am open to suggestions.
    cheers mk

2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Nightwolf's Avatar Old Guy
    I'm no expert, but I've always heard that you shouldn't make a CD (or DVD) drive a slave to your hard drive, because it'll slow it down. If that's true, you should have your two HD's on one IDE channel, and your CD-RW and DVD-Rom on the other.

3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Originally posted by Nightwolf^.`.^@2 April 2003 - 00:17
    I'm no expert, but I've always heard that you shouldn't make a CD (or DVD) drive a slave to your hard drive, because it'll slow it down. If that's true, you should have your two HD's on one IDE channel, and your CD-RW and DVD-Rom on the other.
    yes that is a good format...

i would also switch it around 80gb primary / 40gb slave....

4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    BANNED
    prim/master 40 gig on primary master dual booting to me and xp pro

prim/slave new 80gig

sec/master dvd rom

sec/slave cdwriter

that how i'd have it if it was mine

5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    It always used to be that you shouldn't put a cd as a slave (back when they were 16bit devices) but I think times have changed.

Certainly I have seen Nero Burning ROM (cd writer s/ware) complain about source CD drive and writer drive being on the same channel which makes sense. If you intend to make CD copies you should consider either imaging to disk first (in the above configs) or putting the CD drives on diferent channels.