Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Controlling another pc remotely?

  1. #1
    (>Zero Cool<)'s Avatar he is Spartacus!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    about four feet that way......no the other way
    Posts
    3,103
    Ok I dunno if this is possible or not but I guess it probably is.

    Can I take control of a friend's pc through my own pc allowing me do some routine maintenance etc on his/her pc via the internet? I have seen PC anywhere in action but I think you need to be on a lan or a wan for that to work.

    If this is possible what would I need to do it?

    Thanks for any help you can offer.

    Zero

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Havent tride it yet...
    vnc-4.0-x86_win32.exe
    http://www.realvnc.com/
    Last edited by RealitY; 01-25-2005 at 04:22 AM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Yeah just use, Start > programs > Remote access if you have Windows XP or if you plan on doing this on a frequent basis, you may want top think about NetOp



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    i've used realvnc, its nice
    but i think you can do the same with pcanywhere
    its just a little bulkier than vnc
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    (>Zero Cool<)'s Avatar he is Spartacus!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    about four feet that way......no the other way
    Posts
    3,103
    Ok cool, thanks a lot folks.

    My mates, who know even less than me , often ask me to do some bits and bobs on their pcs. This will save me having to visit them too

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Ever thought of using a trojan horse?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    (>Zero Cool<)'s Avatar he is Spartacus!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    about four feet that way......no the other way
    Posts
    3,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Ariel_001
    Ever thought of using a trojan horse?
    I did but if they nicked my bird I would be happy :greekmytholgysmiley:

    and I don't have enough wood.
    Last edited by (>Zero Cool<); 01-25-2005 at 04:28 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    bigboab's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    30,399
    There is a facility on MSN to do remote control. I have never used it. So cant advise.
    The best way to keep a secret:- Tell everyone not to tell anyone.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    Quote Originally Posted by (>Zero Cool<)
    Ok I dunno if this is possible or not but I guess it probably is.

    Can I take control of a friend's pc through my own pc allowing me do some routine maintenance etc on his/her pc via the internet? I have seen PC anywhere in action but I think you need to be on a lan or a wan for that to work.

    If this is possible what would I need to do it?

    Thanks for any help you can offer.

    Zero
    PCAnywhere can be used over the internet, no trouble. PCAnywhere is great.

    What OS does your mate have? XP Professional has an in-built remote desktop facility...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    vampiro's Avatar Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    202
    use ultr@vnc better then normal real vnc as it has file transfer built in and messaging to and from the server and user

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •