Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Http File Server (behind router)

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    584
    I am currently hosting a site from my computer which is run through a router.

    it is a linksys WAG54G. It's web configuration panel is at 192.168.1.1 and my computer has a local IP of 192.168.1.100.

    I use DynDNS to assign a name to my Internet IP (which I will obviously not put on here). Now when I enter this name in a browser, it takes me to my router configuration instead of my server, which can only be reached through 192.168.1.100 from inside my network (and I want to be able to access it from outside.).

    How can I get DynDNS to point to my server?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    have you forwarded port 80 to 192.168.1.100 ?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    584
    yes i did

    edit: sorted.

    Updated HFS version and changed port. Seems to work now
    Last edited by browser; 01-27-2005 at 05:22 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    out of curioustiy what http server are you running and having your router setting viewable externally is a bad idea.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by browser
    Updated HFS version and changed port. Seems to work now
    hmmm...HFS....baaaaaad idea
    hope you got some kinda security plugins
    when you start seeing requests for cmd.exe, root.exe, etc you'll know what i mean
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    How can I get DynDNS to point to my server?
    1. Forwarded port 80 to your computer
    2. Point DynDNS to your external ip. Try http://www.ipchicken.com/

    hmmm...HFS....baaaaaad idea
    hope you got some kinda security plugins
    when you start seeing requests for cmd.exe, root.exe, etc you'll know what i mean
    3. Just make sure you are using an updated server and use common sense.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    hmmm...HFS....baaaaaad idea
    hope you got some kinda security plugins
    when you start seeing requests for cmd.exe, root.exe, etc you'll know what i mean
    u know a better program ud like to share?

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by jaigandhi5
    u know a better program ud like to share?
    well we went through this like, last year, i think it was
    i was on HFS's side in the argument...
    then i used it a while longer...
    and noticed how much of a big ass security hole it puts in the system

    i dont need it that bad, IMO no one does
    unless like i said, you can find some kinda enhancements for security
    i cant be bothered
    the IIS service with XP Pro can be secured a hell of a lot more from what i have seen

    no, not everyone has XP Pro, but...
    theres sites like yousendit that do just fine for that kinda stuff
    hell you can do up to a GB per file with yousendit
    how much more do you need?
    even DVDs are split into 0.99 GB VOBs (unless its an ISO, img, or somethin)
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    yes i have to agree with u...i used to get those commands when i didnt have a router...but now being behind a router i dont get any of those cmd.exe crap...

    but im starting to dislike hfs...i sometimes get the cannot find server page...not too reliable...looking for an alternative but the only option i have is ftp...

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    gave hfs a try and didn't really like it. I will stick with apache and a few well written php pages. Considering 60% of internet sites use apache it should be pretty damn secure by now as well.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •