Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Symantec Corp AV and XP SP2 question...

  1. #1
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709

    Surprised/Amazed

    With the integration of XP's security center from SP2 into many of the known anti-virus and firewall applications available (meaning how XP now is able to report their status) I was wondering if anyone who is using Symantec's corporate anti-virus 9.0.0.38 (or like version) is able to have their system report the status of that application other than having XP list it as detected but "unknown"? The same with the client firewall if you are utilizing that as well?

    I would really sort of prefer XP to report it's actual status the way in which Norton Internet Security 2004 and 2005 do.

    Did Symantec release un update through LiveUpdate that deals with this issue and I miss it or have they not yet addressed it?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Does it really matter? The security center is a piece of an annoying shit anyways.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I have checked with Client Firewall 7.1.0.98 and AntiVirus 9.0.0.338 (updates done). They are both detected by Windows Security Center but status is unknown. Perhaps Symantec will solve this with future updates or perhaps not.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    download the latest corp version

    9.0.2.1000

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by Xilo
    Does it really matter? The security center is a piece of an annoying shit anyways.
    Out of sheer functionality, well no... it really does not matter, I suppose. However for the sake of just having everything "play together and get along nicely", it would be nice.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by {I}{K}{E}
    download the latest corp version

    9.0.2.1000
    Thanks, IKE! I just assumed that since I had a version of SAV 9 already, that subsequent "9.xx versions" would be available through LiveUpdate. Not the case, I take it?

    At any rate, If you know of an ed2k link for it, would you please PM me or post it if that is allowed? I would appreciate it!



    I suppose my last question would be: since I already have Symantec's Client Security installed (which contains AV version 9.0.0.338), can I install the more recent 9.0.2.1000 directly over it? Or would it all require something more involved than that?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I don't think the install of the later version works on top of the Client Security Version. I'm not sure about that but I think I did that test a while back.

    I'm not even sure if the later verion solves the "status" issue. Anyway if you get it to work, please tell us.

    Here is the verified hash for 9.0.2.1000: https://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/t83610-.html

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    I don't think the install of the later version works on top of the Client Security Version. I'm not sure about that but I think I did that test a while back.

    I'm not even sure if the later verion solves the "status" issue. Anyway if you get it to work, please tell us.

    Here is the verified hash for 9.0.2.1000: https://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/t83610-.html
    you can install it over your current version

    it solves the security center issue

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Absolutely!

    Thanks for the help everyone!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    *UPDATE*

    http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/ent...atibility.html


    After alittle searching through Symantec's Enterprise support center, the above link should resolve any issues that Symantec enterprise/corporate products have with SP2's security center. Am trying the fix now for Client Security v2.0. I will let you know how it all turns out.





    And it all checked out well. The patch, though requiring the original .msi file from your install share/CD, enables Symantec Client Security v2 in it's entirety to become compliant with XP's security center. Fun is good.
    Last edited by Izagaia; 01-31-2005 at 10:09 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •