Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: KDE question....

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    when i minimize a window it disappears....
    anyone know how i can get em to show again?
    (minimize to taskbar instead of goin AWOL)
    using Suse Pro 9.1 w/KDE 3.2.1
    when i first installed windows would minimize to the taskbar...
    but i started tweaking on the taskbar and now they just go bye bye
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 02-06-2005 at 03:12 AM.
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    alt+tab?

    meh, i'm gonna' have to reboot and start up linux now, 'cos my brain ain't working.

    Not really a kde user either. But it's alt-tab nevertheless.
    Last edited by Snee; 02-06-2005 at 02:31 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    thnx snny, i'll give it a shot when i boot back into linux
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Too bad SuSe 9.1 is so oriented towards KDE.

    Gnome is better, I think, but you gotta fiddle with it to get it to work as well as KDE does directly after you've installed it. And the 9.1 disc comes with 2.4 too, you gotta get 2.6 elsewhere.

    It'd be cool if we could get a new version of ximian-gnome, didn't novell buy that or something? Anyone?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    blah.....teh alt + tab is for switching windows....just like in windows
    ok i just confused myself even

    what i meant was open windows wont minimize to the tray...
    like in VB's and 4play's screenys in the other thread
    see theirs has shit in the tray, mine dont
    they stay open until i close em, but dont show anywhere
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    do you mean you accidently removed the part of the taskbar that stores all the open windows when you close them ?

    if so right click the task bar customize and see if there is an option to add it back. happened to me before and it was easy to add back if i remember.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play
    do you mean you accidently removed the part of the taskbar that stores all the open windows when you close them?
    yeah, but damned if i can find it again
    i have tried adding/removing just about every damned thing i can...
    cant seem to fix it

    -edit- i just found it
    ffs if maybe i quit thinking like a n00b....
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 02-09-2005 at 03:50 AM.
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Ooops, thought you had removed that on purpose and wanted to find what you had running without it.

    D'oh.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    whats the differ between Gnome and KDE
    and
    is suse pro 9.2 easy to use, especially comparing to mandrake 10.0

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by mEtho
    whats the differ between Gnome and KDE
    and
    is suse pro 9.2 easy to use, especially comparing to mandrake 10.0
    i like it but i guess its really something you'll have to see for yourself
    even though i seem to be doing OK with suse (minus the lost taskbar )....
    i still might try some other distros
    until i have i cant really say whats easier

    (this is my first round with linux)
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 02-10-2005 at 02:17 AM.
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •