Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Lingering AVI Preview problem

  1. #1
    Larry's Avatar SkyJumper
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    28


    I am able to Preview KL using VLC, MPC, BSplayer, and sometimes AVI,
    but usually in attempting to use AVI I get this.

    Clicking on Yes takes me to...here

    Right now I'm using KL 2.7 Beta4 but have had the same problem in the past
    using v2.4.3 and 2.6.

    Oh, and btw....I have the K-Lite Mega Codec pack installed.

    It's not the end of the world as we know it if I get that message and
    cannot use AVI for Preview but, I like to tidy up loose ends like this.

    Any suggesions?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    what happends if you try to play the file with VLC

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Larry's Avatar SkyJumper
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by {I}{K}{E}
    what happends if you try to play the file with VLC
    Hi {I}{K}{E}, thank you for the reply.

    The file WILL play using VLC when AVI fails to render.
    As we know, VLC can play most files. About the only time it fails
    is when there may not be enough KB downloaded at the time.

    Of VLC, AVI, MPC, and BSplayer, VLC is the most reliable IMHO.
    Also, this is the order I have them listed in my Preview/Play with menu
    with VLC being my first choice (rarely do I use Theater).

    As i've stated, I've seen this behaviour for the couple of years I've been
    using KL and have always had this (more than occasional) failure to be able
    to preview with AVI.

    Guess my question might be:
    if new/more codecs are needed for me to be able to have a more
    reliable AVI Preview, where can I obtain them? Or is there a different
    problem here?

    Larry

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,124
    If you are missing the first part of the file, then DirectShow based players can't determine which codecs where used.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Larry's Avatar SkyJumper
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Entity101
    If you are missing the first part of the file, then DirectShow based players can't determine which codecs where used.
    "....missing the first part of the file"....
    Isn't this the purpose of Previewing?

    So then, AVI Preview is a "DirectShow" based player while VLC is not?
    Is this failure to render then common to all other users?
    And why would I get that error message telling me I "probably" don't have
    all the proper codecs and that I should download the proper ones?

    (Sorry for all the questions Entity101).
    Maybe I'm reading too much into your reply.

    Thanks,
    Larry

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,124
    The very first part of the video simply contains lots of important information.

    Most programs have options to download the first part first (like eMule) or try to download in order as much as possible (like Kazaa).

    VLC doesn't use external codecs, in contrast to most other players.

    That error is simply some default error message. The player read some bogus data that it can't recognize. Hmmm, probably a missing codec. Blame Microsoft :p

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •