Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: IM Clients (I'm fed up with AIM!!!)

  1. #1
    david622's Avatar Procrastinator
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    482
    Can anyone reccomend a new IM client to me (MUST BE AIM COMPATIBLE!!!)

    I'm so pissed off at AIM right now. It randomly closes on me right during a conversation with my friends. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling and it didn't help.

    I either want a new client or a fix for AIM so it stops closing on me (I'm currently using AIM v 5.9.3702)

    I'd like to have the client able to support buddy icons, logging (possibly, but I can live without it), image/file sending, and custom fonts/bg colors for the text.

    I appreciate any help.

    Thanks,
    DSF

    [Edit:] I'd also appreciate links to download sites
    Last edited by david622; 02-20-2005 at 12:21 AM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    what do you mean "it closes"? Do you mean that you lose your connection? or is aim crashing?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Illuminati's Avatar Simple Bystander BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    2008 European Capital of Culture
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,758
    Trillian seems to be the one a lot of people go for.

    Other than that, you can pretty much raid SourceForge - Miranda IM, GAIM...

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    david622's Avatar Procrastinator
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    482
    Quote Originally Posted by backlash
    what do you mean "it closes"? Do you mean that you lose your connection? or is aim crashing?
    sry, let me clarify. It crashes and pops up a dialogue box with a close button that I have to click.

    i'm a go try trillian
    Last edited by david622; 02-20-2005 at 03:50 AM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    numba1xclusive's Avatar Xclusive Gangsta
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    208
    what does this dialogue box say?

    Da Numba1Xclusive King

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    david622's Avatar Procrastinator
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    482
    don't remember offhand.

    so far trillian is working nicely though. But a quick question.... (i'm using pro, if it matters) Is there a way to set it so it doesnt' automatically show the history of previous conversations when I start talking to somebody?

    For example, I start talking to my friend, but it's showing (in faded letters) above the start of the convo, the conversation when had at a previous time.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    yes - under activity history in preferences > miscellaneous options > untick show last 20 lines of the previous conversation OR just choose not to log any conversations and that will stop it as well.
    Last edited by backlash; 02-21-2005 at 11:29 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    david622's Avatar Procrastinator
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    482
    k thanks. I did the former because I really want logging. It's mad useful.

    One more thing.... Is there a way to keep the buddy list from minimizing to the system tray when you click away from it? Instead, can I have it minimize to the taskbar and then minimize to the tray when I click the X?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    trillian works great.. saves a lot more memory than running all those IM clients at once. Four different IM client users contact me all the time, helps me out a lot.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    david622's Avatar Procrastinator
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    482
    I'm sure it does, but I'm only using it as an AIM-replacement

    Anyone know how to fix the annoyance I stated in my previous post?
    Last edited by david622; 02-20-2005 at 07:38 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •