Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Is there a way to make sites think Fox is actually IE?

  1. #1
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    For some stupid reason, this site nolonger lets me use Fox to view it
    http://www.finn.no/finn/realestate (it says in the top "iyou need to update your browser"
    (even though i was just using fox1.0 and just upgraded it to 1.01 - same problem
    so is there a way or extension or something to make the site think my ffox is actually IE or someother browser?
    thank you

    edit: the site was working perfectly with fox during the entire year and since today they seem to have changed something...

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    there are AGENT plugins for FF, or you could use proxomitron
    Last edited by Vargas; 03-06-2005 at 12:17 PM.

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    sparsely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    static hum
    Posts
    3,538
    you can do it in config

    go to about:config in firefox > right-click somewhere > New > String > general.useragent.override > this can be any value you want, but to mimic the IE6 SP2 User-Agent string, add this "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 1.0.3705)"

    you can check your user agent in about: in the address bar

    this post is guaranteed 100% parrot-free

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Thanks for the extension
    Strange....
    i tried the user agent extension(set to IE and the others) and it still comes up with the same error page.
    Have disabled adblock
    ok i guess its me or something....
    strange..the site says its firefox compatible..ok its definetly me
    this is what the page looks like for me
    does it look like this for you?
    http://www.finn.no/finn/realestate

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    sparsely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    static hum
    Posts
    3,538
    nope. looks fine here.
    sure it's nothing with your user userContent.css?

    this post is guaranteed 100% parrot-free

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    uhoh...
    i guess its me...

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    Quote Originally Posted by 15%
    uhoh...
    i guess its me...

    Perfect here as well, Firefox 1.0.1


  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy
    Perfect here as well, Firefox 1.0.1
    same.

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Nope fine here as well. FF1.01.

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    Harsh!'s Avatar n00b
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    551
    Fired up Firefox and took a nosy over to the site linked to...
    All working well with 1.0.1!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •