Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Computer Randomly Reboots

  1. #1
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Ok so if I'm copying files from a CD or DVD and I'll get like halfway through it and my PC will freeze up for a sec and reboot. I get no BSOD, it just reboots. It will also happen if I install FarCry. I'll get to disk 2 and then half way throuh that it wil freeze and then reboot. This started happening when I got a new mobo. Will I need a new mobo? ( )

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    First of all, have you turned off rebooting at system errors?

    Control panel>System properties>advanced>Startup and recovery> De-select "automatically restart"

    Try it and post any errors messages you might get, if it's not off already.

    Secondly, how are your temps? And how good is your PSU?


    And is the fan on your northbridge working, if you have one?
    Last edited by Snee; 03-07-2005 at 09:11 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by SnnY
    First of all, have you turned off rebooting at system errors?

    Control panel>System properties>advanced>Startup and recovery> De-select "automatically restart"

    Try it and post any errors messages you might get, if it's not off already.

    Secondly, how are your temps? And how good is your PSU?


    And is the fan on your northbridge working, if you have one?
    Alright I deselected auto restart. My PSU is 500 watts and the temp in my case right now is 77.5 F. I had to reformat because I couldnt even get into Windows after I attempted to repair it.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by Gam3Guy
    Alright I deselected auto restart. My PSU is 500 watts and the temp in my case right now is 77.5 F. I had to reformat because I couldnt even get into Windows after I attempted to repair it.
    And... What is it doing now?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by Gam3Guy
    This started happening when I got a new mobo.

    test your RAM...the ultimate boot cd, memtest, etc are all free
    could be your RAM & mobo arent getting along
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74

    test your RAM...the ultimate boot cd, memtest, etc are all free
    could be your RAM & mobo arent getting along
    Well I already got 2 new sticks of 512 MB PC 3500 RAM and they still arent getting along so I might just get a new Asus mobo or something because my last Abit mobo never had these problems. Plus my SATA drive is prolly fucked because I formatted it like 10 times in the past month.
    Last edited by silent h3ro; 03-08-2005 at 01:54 AM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    And... What is it doing now?
    Still fucking rebooting.
    Last edited by silent h3ro; 03-08-2005 at 01:53 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by Gam3Guy
    Well I already got 2 new sticks of 512 MB PC 3500 RAM and they still arent getting along so I might just get a new Asus mobo or something because my last Abit mobo never had these problems.
    run the tests before you go and buy/RMA anything
    test the PSU too, may as well
    an ATX power tester will run you about 10-15 bucks
    (yes, its more money, but worth it IMO)
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by Gam3Guy
    Plus my SATA drive is prolly fucked because I formatted it like 10 times in the past month.
    Formatting a drive does not do any damage to it.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I had a major cluster fuk on a friends computer this weekend . Bloody thing would reboot and reboot , and then power died . Opened up the case ........there was so much dust and dirt bunnies on the power supply fan that it would start then shut down. I vacumed it problem solved! I'm not saying thats your problem, but its the little things, like driver problems aswell that need to be looked at.



    Edit: I thought it was his power supply I opened the case to swap it out . then saw the problem . Point is it it can be so many things !
    Last edited by peat moss; 03-08-2005 at 04:27 AM.

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •