Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: URGENT! CPU Fan Error!

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    I just removed this spyware called PruttCT By manually deleting it from my Windows System32 directory and I wanted to start my PC in safemode, I couldn't remember if I had to hit F5 or F8 so I hit F8, my PC started beeping and it came up with

    MegaTrends:

    CPU Fan Error!

    Press F1 To Resume... I got back into XP By pushing F1... But I'm very worried how do I fix this? Whenever I hit DEL to go into Bios it starts up the Bios and then takes me to that CPU FAn Error screen. I would not be able to know my way around my PC if I opened it up so I can't reconnect anything... The PC hasn't suffered any impact though... IT's an ASUS K8NE Deulux MB.

    PS: I also booted in Safemode (F8) so I could delete the temp folder from my Documents And Settings -> Local Users folder... is this safe because there was a virus (EI.exe) in there?

    Please help me with this issue!
    Last edited by Vamp; 03-12-2005 at 12:16 PM.
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    The F8 is the correct key to go to safemode so that didn't cause the problem.
    The virus didn't cause it either.

    It most likely is a faulty CPU fan. Open the case and check it out. The CPU fan is easy to spot.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    open your case

    turn your comp on

    is your fan working?

    if so, there aint no problem
    if not, get a new fan


    i get that error to cause my mobo cant control my fan speed (i can), and it gives this error cause it cant controll my fan.........

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    Does F5 do anything? It also gave me some kind of Cmos error or something and the date and time reset to 00:00 2002 on my taskbar clock :/
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by Vamp
    Does F5 do anything? It also gave me some kind of Cmos error or something and the date and time reset to 00:00 2002 on my taskbar clock :/
    bad battery maybe?
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    bad battery maybe?

    Something is very odd :/ My case has a see through side and that CPU Fan is working perfectly :/ but whenever I reboot I get that beeping and that lo-fi chinese voice "CPU FAN FAIL!"

    But I can just press F1 and get into Windows...

    Is there no software issue that could cause this? Did I not maybe reset settings or something while trying to get into safe mode I was pushing random F buttons?

    Edit: I just went into Bios and in hardware monitoring:

    CPU Temp: 52 Degrees Celcius

    CPU Fan speed - N/A
    Chasis Fan Speed - N/A
    Power Fan Speed - 5400RPM

    Cool n Quiet - Enabled

    Q-Fan - Disabled
    Last edited by Vamp; 03-12-2005 at 05:05 PM.
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by Vamp
    Did I not maybe reset settings or something while trying to get into safe mode I was pushing random F buttons?
    well that may be how you cleared your system clock

    Quote Originally Posted by Vamp
    Edit: I just went into Bios and in hardware monitoring:

    CPU Temp: 52 Degrees Celcius

    CPU Fan speed - N/A
    Chasis Fan Speed - N/A
    Power Fan Speed - 5400RPM

    Cool n Quiet - Enabled

    Q-Fan - Disabled
    well your BIOS says your CPU fan isnt working perfectly
    do you have it on the right connector?

    -edit-
    or have you not messed with the fan connectors?
    you may wanna start looking for a BIOS update
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 03-12-2005 at 05:11 PM.
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    well that may be how you cleared your system clock



    well your BIOS says your CPU fan isnt working perfectly
    do you have it on the right connector?

    -edit-
    or have you not messed with the fan connectors?
    you may wanna start looking for a BIOS update

    I just told the bios to ignore the Fan Speed... Not getting any more errors
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    of course not, its ignoring em.........

    check your manual........

    i bet your cpu fan is connected to your psu fan controller.........

    EDIT: or you have one of those mobo's that has the connectors labeled all wrong
    Last edited by Storm; 03-12-2005 at 05:26 PM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    Quote Originally Posted by Storm
    of course not, its ignoring em.........

    check your manual........

    i bet your cpu fan is connected to your psu fan controller.........

    EDIT: or you have one of those mobo's that has the connectors labeled all wrong

    I've had this PC since september and I havn't opened it or knocked it so nothing could be disconnected... I'm thinking that it was always on ignore and I did or a virus removal did something that reset it to the default settings.
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •