Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Boot Disk

  1. #1
    numba1xclusive's Avatar Xclusive Gangsta
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    208
    Ok so my bios is really stupid like that. I want to install Fedora Core 3, but my D VD drive doesnt boot up. I checked in my BIOS several times,and also changed the cables a couple times, nothing helped. Now, i'm resorting to a boot disk. Anyone know how to make a Linux Boot disk, for Fedora?

    Da Numba1Xclusive King

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    There are a few descriptions out there, not sure if you can set your dvd drive as a source for this ->http://www.thisiscool.com/fc3floppy.htm but you can try.

    Or you can just get a grub boot floppy, and use that I think.

    Another thing you could do if you have the time is dl FC3 cd isos, you can always change the install source once you've got it installed so you can use the dvd for additional packages you wanna install later on.
    Last edited by Snee; 03-12-2005 at 08:21 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    numba1xclusive's Avatar Xclusive Gangsta
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    208
    NM. I found a Boot ISO on the DVD. I just burned that to the CD,booted from there, then used the Original DVD source.Thanks anyway.

    Da Numba1Xclusive King

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Good good, i've never used FC3 myself, but I hear it's ok, so good luck with it.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    numba1xclusive's Avatar Xclusive Gangsta
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    208
    Hey my sound doesnt work. Is there any reason for that? I have a Creative Soundblaster, but Dell also shipped a onboard Sound system. Does linux take the Mobo one over the one installed in the PCI?

    Da Numba1Xclusive King

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    might be an ALSA thing or something, here's an FC3 guide.

    Other than that I guess you'll have to wait for something who knows more about it to come along.


    EDit: and make sure the onboard sound is turned off in bios.
    Last edited by Snee; 03-12-2005 at 09:47 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •