Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: TomTom

  1. #1
    Does anyone know how TomTom actually works. I know that its PDA navigation software for GPS systems.

    But does it get live transmission from somewhere??
    Apart from getting the software, do I have to pay for using it, such as communication costs....

    I simply dont have clue how GPS systems works

    thanks

  2. Lounge   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    http://www.nasm.si.edu/exhibitions/gps/work.html


    The accuracy of a position determined with GPS depends on the type of receiver. Most hand-held GPS units have about 10-20 meter accuracy.

  3. Lounge   -   #3
    manker's Avatar effendi
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    I wear an Even Steven wit
    Posts
    44,031
    I have a GPS thing in my car. I hardly use it tho' as I almost never go somewhere without knowing the way.

    It gets the information direct from a satellite link and you don't have to pay anything extra once you've paid the initial cost.
    I plan on beating him to death with his kids. I'll use them as a bludgeon on his face. -

    --Good for them if they survive.

  4. Lounge   -   #4
    namzuf9's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    The Armpit Of The Universe.
    Posts
    1,943
    I believe with TomTom there is a bi-yearly subscription charge.

  5. Lounge   -   #5
    sArA's Avatar Ex-Moderatererer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,765
    I thought that Tom Tom was the piper's son.....



    I will get me coat....

  6. Lounge   -   #6
    I am hoping to use TomTom with my Pocket PC (just to show off).

    "It gets the information direct from a satellite link" > doesn't anyone have to pay fpr this satellite link???

    I was thinking of buying a CD from Ebay which promises hundreds of software for Pocket PC, including TomTom. Seems like a deal????

  7. Lounge   -   #7
    Yogi's Avatar Super Undulator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Age
    94
    Posts
    7,783
    I just intalled it on my uncle's pda.

    Jeez, you need at least like 2 gig if you want to put whole Europe on it............

    Been driving through/in at least 25 countries and i never use a map.

    Fre and me have discovered the most amazing spots by loosing track.....




    YomYom

  8. Lounge   -   #8
    manker's Avatar effendi
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    I wear an Even Steven wit
    Posts
    44,031
    Quote Originally Posted by reminder
    I am hoping to use TomTom with my Pocket PC (just to show off).

    "It gets the information direct from a satellite link" > doesn't anyone have to pay fpr this satellite link???

    I was thinking of buying a CD from Ebay which promises hundreds of software for Pocket PC, including TomTom. Seems like a deal????
    Yeah, I use my GPS thing with my pocket PC, is there any other way

    The company which sells the software has to pay for use of the satellite - I imagine - but that's included in the purchase price. At least it is the case with my thingie. I've never paid a subscription or anything like that.
    I plan on beating him to death with his kids. I'll use them as a bludgeon on his face. -

    --Good for them if they survive.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •