Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: puter frezes help please

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    this is what is happening...

    when im using my puter it locked up, so i did a v/spyware scan and all the other stuff. then half way though the scans i was running i got the
    BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH.
    the blue screen said. IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL and some other numbers. so i turned my fmb down, ive overclocked my amd2600+ from 1.9 to 2.2 for at least 4 months with no probs.

    still got problems for example when my pc freezes up as soon as i press control-alt-del my puter unfreezes.
    also when i ran v/spyware scans task manager showed that the v scanner was using 98% of the cpu.

    so after about 2days of scans,disabling hdrives and cd roms etc... i backed up my data and reformated.
    puter is still playing up
    not sure but it could be a RAM/mobo prob coz of the months of overclocking

    also my net connection stops working and my mouse and curser somtimes hopps around the screen
    Last edited by foot loose; 03-16-2005 at 06:15 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    Most likely caused by a dodgy driver.

    Had the same IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL problem back when I first got my mobo.
    For my PC, it was bad C-Media audio drivers on the mobo CD.
    Specifically, cmuda.sys was to blame.

    What's the name of the file that threw the error? (should be shown at the bottom of the blue screen)

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    Quote Originally Posted by uNz[i]
    Most likely caused by a dodgy driver.

    Had the same IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL problem back when I first got my mobo.
    For my PC, it was bad C-Media audio drivers on the mobo CD.
    Specifically, cmuda.sys was to blame.

    What's the name of the file that threw the error? (should be shown at the bottom of the blue screen)
    i did'nt see what it was. but i had no problems, the puter just started to freeze for no reason.

    as soon as i loaded the bios defaults i dont get the blue screen any more. but the puter still does strange things

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    Well, if you're still getting freezes, maybe your mobo is damaged, possibly by the OCing?

    If you have the ability, open up the case and take a look at the capacitors (caps) on the mobo. Are they all flat on top?
    If the tops of any of the caps are bulging up like this or this, they'll need to be replaced.

    Or a new mobo could be a simpler option...

    Hope I'm wrong though.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    Quote Originally Posted by uNz[i]
    Well, if you're still getting freezes, maybe your mobo is damaged, possibly by the OCing?

    If you have the ability, open up the case and take a look at the capacitors (caps) on the mobo. Are they all flat on top?
    If the tops of any of the caps are bulging up like this or this, they'll need to be replaced.

    Or a new mobo could be a simpler option...

    Hope I'm wrong though.
    nah mate they are still all flat.. my cursor keeps jumping around the screen.. how do you no if your ram is not working properly???

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    There's programs to test memory. Hers two.


    http://www.overclockers.com/tips79/

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    Try checking out the mouse drivers if the cursor is jumping about. Or maybe the mouse itself is wearing out?

    Of the 2 RAM testers peatmoss has linked to, I personally recommend memtest86.

    Start by just running standard tests, and if it finishes without finding any errors, chances are the RAM is okay.

    But if you want to be absolutely sure, run memtest86's bitfade test.
    Start it just before going to bed, because it writes data to an area of the RAM, leaves it there for about 45 mins, then checks that part of the RAM again to see if the data has changed in any way.
    If there's no change or data loss, good. It moves on to another part of the RAM and does it all over again.
    In a nutshell, bitfade is a boringly long, thorough test, but by the time its done, you'll know the state of your RAM for sure, one way or the other.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •