Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 80

Thread: How fast is 1.5 Mbps?

  1. #1
    Rip The Jacker's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,435
    I'm still on dial-up here, and I'm thinking about getting SBC's Yahoo DSL.

    They're offering a package with "Up to 1.5 Mbps" for $19.95 a month for the first year. When downloading, how fast is 1.5Mbps exactly? Is that 150Kb/sec max?

    And is that a good deal?
    Last edited by Rip The Jacker; 03-18-2005 at 01:29 AM.

  2. Lounge   -   #2
    manker's Avatar effendi
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    I wear an Even Steven wit
    Posts
    44,031
    Technically the max is 187KBps but in practice, what with noise on the phone lines and stuff, you're likely to get about 170ish.

    Good deal tho'
    I plan on beating him to death with his kids. I'll use them as a bludgeon on his face. -

    --Good for them if they survive.

  3. Lounge   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    beware the fine print. i bet it says somewhere there is a download limit.

  4. Lounge   -   #4
    BigDaddy555's Avatar ONE MIN. NINE SEC.
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas!
    Age
    39
    Posts
    772
    I had 1.5dsl before. It wasnt too bad. A world of difference in the dial up for sure. Im on a cable modem @4Mbs, and I dont see a very huge difference due to server bandwith. You cant DL any faster than they can UL. Anyway, for 20 bucks mo...its a deal. Of course, you'll have to buy a modem.
    Last edited by BigDaddy555; 03-18-2005 at 01:34 AM.


  5. Lounge   -   #5
    Rip The Jacker's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,435
    http://promotions.yahoo.com/sbc/stat...u_lb=ns&.u_c=1

    According to them, the modem is free. But it says something about buying an ethernet card. Isn't that the 10/100 LAN most mobo's come with?

  6. Lounge   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    dont see any mention of having to have a nic.

    gotta love the description of the speed : faster and fastest very technical.

  7. Lounge   -   #7
    BigDaddy555's Avatar ONE MIN. NINE SEC.
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas!
    Age
    39
    Posts
    772
    Quote Originally Posted by Rip The Jacker
    http://promotions.yahoo.com/sbc/stat...u_lb=ns&.u_c=1

    According to them, the modem is free. But it says something about buying an ethernet card. Isn't that the 10/100 LAN most mobo's come with?
    Wow...theyre GIVING you a modem, you dont have to rent it? That seems like a pretty awesome deal. CONTRACT?......
    Most newer mobos will have the 10/100 built in, just look on the back of your box, it is a little bigger than the phone plug if you are unfamiliar with it.
    Last edited by BigDaddy555; 03-18-2005 at 02:01 AM.


  8. Lounge   -   #8
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    i'd definetly go with the yahoo dsl, had it for 3 years and no problems. for 19.99$ thats a very good deal!

  9. Lounge   -   #9
    Rip The Jacker's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,435
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play
    dont see any mention of having to have a nic.

    gotta love the description of the speed : faster and fastest very technical.
    Yeah faster and fastest.

    Whats a NIC?

    @BigDaddy555
    I still can't tell if I have the ethernet port for sure. This is my mobo:
    http://www.ecsusa.com/products/p4vxasd2.html

    Is this it?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. Lounge   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    yes that's is the ethernet/network port.
    NIC = network interface controller...not sure if that last word was right but it's basically the network/ethernet card

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •