Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Cut power cables from PSu i dont use ????

  1. #1
    Josh's Avatar QX9650 @ 4.02Ghz
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Stokesley UK
    Age
    30
    Posts
    292
    Hi,

    i was wondering is it ok for me to snip the cable to a short length like my SATA cables i dont use and 6 pin aux i neva use. Im electrician have crimps and that if i eva need to use these again. They both on there own seperate rails and neva used. I was gonna snip them off and put connector blocks on the end is this ok to do ???????

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    I cut some of mine off and have had no problems.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Supernatural's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,123
    What if you need them in future? Tie wraps work well.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by Supernatural
    What if you need them in future? Tie wraps work well.
    Zap straps?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    There's usually a gap between mobo back panel and the outer case panel (assuming you've got a tower). It's a far better solution if you can hide them in there somehow.

    If necessary cut a hole in the inner wall to feed the cables through, and line it with strip grommet. Easiest way is to drill 3 holes in a line with a 10mm drill, then link the middle hole to the outer 2 with a flat file, takes about 3 minutes.

    The result is tidy wiring, with no permanent damage apart from one neat hole.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Josh's Avatar QX9650 @ 4.02Ghz
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Stokesley UK
    Age
    30
    Posts
    292
    lynx im doing that now when i get my new case will see how it goes its just new case has side panel and trying to make it all look nice and neat will see how it goes

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    You need to keep the future in mind.
    Is this a PSU that will carry forward to another build or will it stay with this box forever?
    SATA will be the interface of ALL of your drives in the near future (optical as well as HDD) so removing the connectors effectively consigns the unit to this build.
    Those stupid 6-pin Intel connectors aren't even used on newer Intel boards either, so they are useless to almost everyone.

    It's kinda amusing the amount of legacy crap that we are forced to deal with, your PSU is a good example.
    I was reading a review of a new motherboard where the author complained that there was only one IDE header (the board has 8 SATA ports).
    I wish the IDE was totally gone along with the floppy header too.
    Space on motherboards is already at a premium and losing those (relatively) large plugs would free up some valuable real estate and maybe make the arrangement of useful components more rational.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    I wish the IDE was totally gone along with the floppy header too.
    Yeah but how will you get access to the SATA drivers without the floppy?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    My next board (Gigabyte, socket 939) presents the SATA drives to Windows as IDE...no floppy required. You load the SATA drivers after you're already in Windows.
    MS says that the next gen OS's won't require the F6 move anyway, SATA drivers will be packaged in the driver .cab (along with all the other useless crap that's already there).
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Supernatural's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,123
    I don't see the big deal with SATA anyways. It offers little to no advantages over PATA in desktop solutions.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •