Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Problem with GeForce ti4600 128MB

  1. #1
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    Okay, I got a new video card but I've got some problems as well. I've upgraded from an ATI Radeon 8500 64MB to an nVidia GeForce ti4600 128MB. Everything seems to be working correctly except for my games, which sucks because that's ultimately why I upgraded in the first place.

    My Call of Duty: UO game has no picture at all, just a blank screen. I can still hear the audio though. Any suggestions?

    My FarCry game starts to load properly but then goes to a green flickering screen. Again, the audio is fine though. Any suggestions?

    I've uninstalled (via add/remove programs in safe mode) all of the old ATI software and drivers. Then I used drivercleaner to make sure I got it all. Then I went to the nVidia site and downloaded this driver, which should work just fine since nVidia uses the same driver for all their cards. I downloaded the driver because I didn't have a disc at all. I put both games on their default or 'optimal' settings and reduced my screen refresh rate for both my monitor to 60 from 75.

    Do anyone have any other suggestions because I'm stumped and highly frustrated?
    Last edited by Skizo; 03-19-2005 at 02:46 PM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Most of these games note what sort of hardware you've got when you install them, partly to stop people ripping an image from one system to another, also for a degree of optimisation.

    Try reinstalling the games, you may find they work after that.

    But was Radeon 8500->Geforce ti4600 really a worthwhile upgrade? Neither of them is DX9 compliant.
    Last edited by lynx; 03-19-2005 at 04:34 PM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    Most of these games note what sort of hardware you've got when you install them, partly to stop people ripping an image from one system to another, also for a degree of optimisation.

    Try reinstalling the games, you may find they work after that.

    But was Radeon 8500->Geforce ti4600 really a worthwhile upgrade? Neither of them is DX9 compliant.

    A buddy of mine upgraded his, and gave me his old one.

    It should be DX9 compatible...I play CoD:UO and FarCry.

    I'll try the reinstall and post back in a bit.
    Last edited by Skizo; 03-19-2005 at 04:41 PM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    Is it possible that when I uninstalled the ATI stuff from the previous video card, that it also uninstalled the DirectX stuff?



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Skizo
    It should be DX9 compatible...I play CoD:UO and FarCry.
    It isn't.
    I don't think COD even uses dx9, not sure about far cry.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    Not to be arguementative but, I just don't know a whole lot about video cards. If they aren't, how am I playing these games?

    http://www.farcry.ubi.com/system.php

    http://www.ultimate-gamer.com/cod/cod.htm
    Last edited by Skizo; 03-19-2005 at 05:31 PM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Well first of all they don't work.

    but anyway they need software directx 9 support, there's no real directx9 (pixel shader 2.0) hardware support from those cards.

    The only cards that truly are directx9 compatible are the geforce fx 5200 and higher and the readeon 9500 and higher.
    Last edited by tesco; 03-19-2005 at 05:34 PM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    I thought when u have like a dx 8 card the game would render in 8 instead of 9.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    Okay, I just finished a 35 minute uninstall/reinstall session with Farcry and the problem isn't fixed. I'm so pissed off right now...

    I don't know what else to do.
    Last edited by Skizo; 03-19-2005 at 05:47 PM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    CoD requires DirectX 9.0a software, DirectX 8 Hardware
    SUPPORTED CHIPSETS:
    ATI® Radeon 7200, 8500, 9000, 9500, 9700, 9800
    All NVidia® GeForce™/Geforce FX chipset's

    Farcry requires 64 MB DirectX® 9.0b-compatible graphics card - "see list for more info".
    Can't find list anywhere but requirements are higher than CoD.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •