Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Sony DRU-510A Burnt up..pc won't turn on. What's up??

  1. #1
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873

    Sick

    My DVD Write Drive SONY DRU-510A just burnt up yesterday due to me using Overdrive mode too much. The sucker literally popped!! Sounded like someone kicked my room's door. BAM!

    Yes, well I'm not sure what else has burnt up now since after removing the drive... the system refuses to even start. Nothing, natta zip.

    The power supply still clicks when I connect the power cable (could it still be messed up though?) and I don't know about my motherboard.

    I will probably end up replacing the motherboard I suppose, but what are your experiences with this kind of stuff? Hell, does it even burn up the CPU?
    Son of a @#$%* might have taken a few parts to hell with it.

    I don't have any major $$ Cha Ching $$ right now, so I hope it's just the power supply or something.
    Last edited by Wolfmight; 03-19-2005 at 03:38 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Nice. Sounds like ur drive is fucked up.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Try a different PSU.
    Motherboard could also likely be the problem.
    But it's kind of hard to tell what it is without testing with some other parts.
    Last edited by tesco; 03-19-2005 at 03:41 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873

    Sick

    Quote Originally Posted by Gam3Guy
    Nice. Sounds like ur drive is fucked up.
    Yes, I was trying to copy 7 Rented DVDs onto the hardrive in a row.. useing Overdrive speed. Silly Silly of me, I should have known it would blow. Impatience is a bad thing when it comes to computers. (unless they literally freeze...were you could leave it on for a year and it still would be frozen).
    Last edited by Wolfmight; 03-19-2005 at 03:51 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco
    Try a different PSU.
    Motherboard could also likely be the problem.
    But it's kind of hard to tell what it is without testing with some other parts.
    Hmm.. maybe I could buy the PSU and mobo.. try em both. Take one or the other back for refund. (same day should be cool)

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    It sounds like a capacitor popped in your power supply.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    I can almost guarantee that the original problem is in the PSU, not DVD burner, but you can check that out later. There's no way to get the drive to use more power than it's maximum rating so there's no reason for it to blow the drive.

    Have a look at the Mobo, look for any burnt spots and blown caps. Then remove the cover from the PSU and look in there, I predict this is where you will see the problem, caused by overload.

    If I'm right go buy a new PSU, and this time don't get the cheapest crap around.
    Try your existing setup with the new PSU, if it doesn't work unplug everything unessential from the mobo to get into bios. If it still doesn't work next stop is the mobo.

    After that you probably need to come back here if it still doesn't work.

    Edit: must type faster.
    Last edited by lynx; 03-19-2005 at 04:20 PM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    A drive "overpowering' a power supply.

    I can't begin to explain how unlikely that is.

    Chances are your drive took a dump. Connecting it to another PC will quickly answer that question. Repair is generally out of the question since virtually no one but the mfg has the capability and resources to do so. Even then it's going to be cheaper to replace a drive then repair it.

    Accept those facts, make a decision, and move on.

    To bad you don't have any money, especially since drives are a dime-a-dozen(read: not very expensive).

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Ok, here's the scoop.

    I bought a new 450W PSU that still didn't let the system power up.
    I got pissed and took it to a computer repair shop called PC Guru. Those bastards kept it for a week and still didn't even start on it!! I ran in and took it out to another store called Log-Apro PC Repair. These Mofos were awesome...repaired it right when I took it in within less than an hour. They discovered that new PSU was the problem (lacked voltage it claimed), because they tried 2 others higher and lower W that let it power..but that new one didn't! Wtf rare eh!? I noticed it was some new "silent" crap for a fan! Must have been weak.. I need Diesel Fuel, not some methane fart in a gas tank!

    Yes, so I payed em $30..and am getting this 580W PSU for $32 off Newegg...highest votes and best rating. POWMAX Demon. should be tight.

    Gatta get my $45 back for that 450W Silent P.O.S from Frys.

    Looka that!



    Last edited by Wolfmight; 03-26-2005 at 04:08 PM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Damn Damn Damn!!!
    I got the new PSU, hooked er up, but I still have a problem!!
    CPU Voltage Error..the mobo reset to default values.
    ^ Says this error everytime. And the computer only boots half the time..Sometimes it refuses to boot completely!

    Who here says it's the CPU.

    I know the RAM is ok, Checked it ok on bootup
    Hardrive is ok, booted it up on another system
    Moniter...well duh it's working..new
    Floppy Drive... Not sure
    CD\DVD drive... None in it right now
    Graphics Card..seems to display stuff... no beeps. the fan that resides on the card run ok.
    ??? an ideas?
    Last edited by Wolfmight; 03-31-2005 at 11:48 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •