Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Oh noes! The power supply broked!!!!111

  1. #1
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    ok last night i was playing need for speed u2 right ok so anyways the computers just shuts down for no reason i try to start it up again and there's this white spark/light coming from the power supply, however the power led on the mb is still on if you plug the pc.

    1. i need a new power supply right

    2. how do i figure out how many watts a power supply

    3. did i fry anything?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I would try a cheap one first , a used one . But I would n't buy anything under 350 watts .


    I like this site ,while not rocket science it does give one an example .



    http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
    Last edited by peat moss; 03-20-2005 at 07:56 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    'k, sounds like you fried the PSU.

    Depending on how good quality it was it may have done some damage to your system.

    If so, the only way to determine what may have happened is get hold of another PSU, perhaps an old one for now, and try it with a minimum of hardware connected to the mobo.

    Just the GFX card and the Mobo at first, and then try adding drives and stuff if it posts, and so on. If you connect something and it stops posting you may have fried that part.

    As I recall my brothers computer wouldn't even post after he fried his PSU, until we removed the floppy.


    As for what new PSU you should get, go for a good brand, like Fortron or Antec true (I know the former is excellent, and the latter is a favourite with the crowd here).

    I wouldn't buy anything below 400 watts today.
    Last edited by Snee; 03-20-2005 at 07:55 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    i'm gonna try to stick my old ps from 1999 and remove from fans and stuff but i need to figure out how many watts
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

    This may help, tho' it's not entirely accurate, I think.

    And it only shows you how much you need if everything is working at full power at once, and that never happens irl. So that gives you the biggest PSU you might possibly need, but you can buy something rated a bit below the wattage you get from the site.
    Last edited by Snee; 03-20-2005 at 08:00 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Keikan
    i'm gonna try to stick my old ps from 1999 and remove from fans and stuff but i need to figure out how many watts


    We all posted at the same time ! But try my link om power supply consumntion.



    @ SnnY, great minds think alike ?
    Last edited by peat moss; 03-20-2005 at 08:05 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Didn't even notice you had that link too.

    It's good tho'.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by SnnY
    Didn't even notice you had that link too.

    It's good tho'.

    No problem , Note to peat moss : take typing course !

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    that's almost exactly how it happened to me ebfore i got my enermax.
    I was playing need for speed 5.

    but anyway ya it sounds fried. trying a differnt psu would be good, make sure to unplug anything you dont need form in the computer if it's a low wattage.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    ok so i tried another ps and now the pc won't turn on, the led on the asus motherboard is on and the network leds is on
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •